Blogger profile: davidry214

by

Handle: davidry214

Name: David Youngblood

AIM: MrStanza

E-mail: david.youngblood@okstate.edu

Favorite Movies: The Life Aquatic with Steve Zissou and Lawrence of Arabia

Favorite Childhood Movie: Scooby Doo and the Reluctant Wolf

Favorite Book: The Lone Ranger and Tonto Fistfight in Heaven

Favorite Magazine: National Geographic (I’m actually 70 years old).

Favorite TV Show: The Office

Favorite Superhero: So many. Maybe Black Panther, maybe Hawkeye, maybe Batman, maybe the Thing, maybe Archangel, maybe any of a dozen others.

My name is Dave; some of you may have often known me as avengingangel214 or shadowwolf214 or even captainamericable. As of this January 2010 update, I’m now 22 years old, about to be 23. I’m in my first year of law school at the University of Oklahoma. I’m a graduate of Oklahoma State University, where I majored in sports media/news-editorial journalism, doubling in English, and minoring in Spanish. I was the sports editor, then the editor-in-chief, at The Daily O’Collegian. It was a busy time, but still nothing compared to law school.

I started reading comics in the seventh grade, starting with JLA, Avengers, and Uncanny X-Men. Over the next six years, my number of comics waxed and waned from more than 30 to six and back again. Finally, as my senior year of high school came to a close, so did my comic reading. Money issues were pressing down on me, and it seemed the only solution at the time. Now, I have a better job, albeit one that kills me some days, and just enough money to reignite a love of comics.

I met Goki and Spiffy only about a year or so after I started reading comics. Spiffy/Andy and I started playing fantasy sports a few years later and have remained pretty tight since. Goki, I’ve often lost track of for months to years at a time, but I love that tight butt of his to death.

So now I’ve waded my way back into the worlds of Marvel and DC after missing a little more than three years and only had slight knowledge of what’s transpired in my absence. I’ve been back for about a year and a half now, and love comics almost as much as ever. I’ll also be posting about tv shows and movies along the way, and maybe even a little sports.

Anything you’d like to know, ask away. Anything you’d rather not know, warn me and I’ll try not to tell you.

4 Responses to “Blogger profile: davidry214”

  1. gokitalo Says:

    He’s here at last! Welcome aboard, David! You’ll be happy to know my butt is as tight as ever 😉

    To upload a picture from your computer, either:

    (a) click on the first icon next to “Add Media” and then “Choose Files to Upload.” WordPress might “crunch” the pic if you do that, though.

    OR

    b) upload it onto a site like Photobucket and copy/paste the code into post’s HTML.

  2. davidry214 Says:

    Thanks, got it now. Figured if I put that question in there, you’d help me out.

  3. spiffyithaca Says:

    National Geographic? So lame.

  4. What to Buy: Jan. 6, 2010 « Eat More Comics Says:

    […] I know nothing about this Image book, though I believe it was originally created many years ago by Rob Liefield, but I choose to believe it’s named after me. […]

Leave a Reply

