Spider-Man’s “One More Day”

by

I know I’m late, and I know it doesn’t matter. But I need to vent, and as Goki pointed out to me, this is the perfect place to do it.

I’m not going to dignify One More Day with a review. It doesn’t deserve one. The four part crossover tried its damndest to ruin one of the greatest superheroes of all time, if not the greatest.

SPOILERS ABOUND, beware

As I said in my last post about Amazing Spider-Man, I really liked Back in Black, but the last part of it rubbed me the wrong way, and maybe it’s because I felt the bad omen to come. Something was brewing. Something awful. And I wasn’t wrong. Goki had told me that he refused to read Amazing Spider-Man now, and I can’t blame him. If I was just a little bit angrier, I would consider not reading Marvel altogether, because what JMS and Quesada did, was unconscionable.

It starts in Amazing Spider-Man #544, continues in Friendly Neighborhood Spider-Man #24 and The Sensational Spider-Man (vol. 2) #41, and concludes in Amazing Spider-Man #545, and it’s all suck. The only compliment I can give it, is that the first 2 and a half parts were intense and quick reads, and yes, I wanted to know what happens. Joe Quesada put forth some of the best art I’ve seen him draw. I’ve never been a big fan of his work (I’ve read his Daredevil and one issue of Daredevil: Father), but he pulled out all the stops here. Like it mattered, however. I’m sure Quesada was in some shape or form involved in the end game in this arc, obviously as EIC, and his art doesn’t make up for what was done in this arc.

Stracynski’s a great writer. From what I’ve read of Amazing Spider-Man, including the Civil War tie-ins, Aunt May finding out about Spider-Man, and Back in Black, he’s consistently good, and willing to take risks. He took one risk too many here, and I’m going to just let it out: He somehow made Peter Parker and Mary Jane make a deal with Mephisto, TO ERASE THEIR MARRIAGE, to save Aunt May’s life. Aunt May’s 60 years old. Yes, she took a bullet intended for Peter. But for God’s sake, there’s no way this story arc makes sense, or that it can be redeemed. Peter Parker is now single, and no longer married to MJ, and doesn’t remember their marriage even existed, and the same is said for MJ. WHY GOD WHY?! Why can this happen? Why did Marvel think that ruining perhaps their greatest couple was a good idea? SHOCK VALUE? SALES? Jesus Christ is anything sacred? FUCK. Fuck you Marvel. Mary Jane and Peter Parker are beautiful, and you completely just fucked with it, to save Aunt May? I know Aunt May represents the last vestige of Ben Parker, I know Peter Parker sticks to the “responsibility” adage a little too much, but goddammit. Let her die. Or better yet, NOT HAVE IT HAPPEN IT ALL. Not only does this just not make a lot of sense (how did this not fuck up Civil War? I heard that they said he still unmasked, but people don’t remember who it was?). I can’t believe they would ruin Spider-Man’s continuity like this. Goki knows more than anybody, that I’m a sucker for a character revamp, a retcon, as long as it’s well done, but this just is far and away, the most upsetting comicbook story I’ve ever read (and I read Austen’s Uncanny X-Men).

I really have nothing else to say. I think the picture says it all. Ugh.

7 Responses to “Spider-Man’s “One More Day””

  1. davidry214 Says:

    First of all, what a great review. So much anger and passion. I loved it.

    Second, though I haven’t read it, I can’t help but concur. What a truly terrible idea that should never have been allowed to occur. Awful. What did they give Mephisto in return?

  2. gokitalo Says:

    I don’t think they’ve said. Yet.

    Goki had told me that he refused to read Amazing Spider-Man now, and I can’t blame him.

    Yeah. I mean, no disrespect to the creators onboard now, but reading AMS now would feel like saying “One More Day” was worth it.

    Anyway, great review, Spiffy-O. The picture you used at the beginning really sells it 😉

  3. spiffyithaca Says:

    Mephisto saved Aunt May’s life because he loved the idea of ruining true love, calling MJ’s and Peter Parker’s marriage one of the purest in the world or something, and that if he had a hand in ruining that, it would give him much pleasure (Quesada = Mephisto). And also, the fact that he would leave a hole in each of their souls, something that isn’t really noticeable, but makes them both feel like they have a void in their life, gave him another kick in the pants (or cloak/nothingness).

    Also, MJ whispered something into Mephisto’s ear before the deal, and we don’t know what was said, but Mephisto loved it.

  4. gokitalo Says:

    Mephisto: “… in the ear? Really? But are you sure it’s big enough for–”

    Mary Jane: “Tiger, you should SEE some of the things I can fit in there.”

  5. spiffyithaca Says:

    First: You’re sick Goki. There’s nothing funny about this.
    Second: A clip from our three-way convo on AIM tonight….

    spiffygy (12:27:08 AM): see ya
    spiffygy (12:27:10 AM): friend
    Gokitalo (12:27:13 AM): Buddy
    spiffygy (12:27:15 AM): chum
    MrStanza (12:27:15 AM) has left the room.
    Gokitalo (12:27:16 AM): ..
    spiffygy (12:27:21 AM): i got 2 in
    spiffygy (12:27:22 AM): YES
    Gokitalo (12:27:26 AM): He left before I could say lover
    spiffygy (12:27:58 AM): aww
    spiffygy (12:28:01 AM): thats heartbreaking
    spiffygy (12:28:11 AM): How do you think Peter Parker and MJ feel?
    spiffygy (12:28:12 AM): OH WAIT
    Gokitalo (12:28:16 AM): LOL
    spiffygy (12:28:23 AM): THEY DONT EVEN REMEMBER LOVING EACH OTHER GODDAMIT
    spiffygy (12:28:32 AM): WHY GOD WHY
    spiffygy (12:28:34 AM): FUCK FUCK FUCK
    spiffygy (12:28:43 AM): Im not over it yet
    Gokitalo (12:28:58 AM): Haha, you did just read it
    spiffygy (12:29:40 AM): I know
    spiffygy (12:29:49 AM): It will leave an indelible mark upon my anus for years to come
    spiffygy (12:29:58 AM): THE MARK OF FULL COMPLETE RAPE
    spiffygy (12:30:04 AM): WHY GOD WHY
    spiffygy (12:30:06 AM): FUCK FUCK FUCK
    spiffygy (12:30:18 AM): You should save this and put it as a response to my review
    spiffygy (12:30:19 AM): its gold
    Gokitalo (12:30:45 AM): I agree
    spiffygy (12:30:53 AM): GOLD LIKE THE SUIT TONY STARK GAVE SPIDEY
    spiffygy (12:30:59 AM): THE SUIT THAT MADE HIM GIVE UP HIS IDENTITY
    spiffygy (12:31:03 AM): THAT SHOT AUNT MAY
    spiffygy (12:31:11 AM): THAT MADE HIM DO NAUGHTY NASTY UNFORGIVABLE THINGS
    spiffygy (12:31:15 AM): GODDAMMIT MARVEL
    spiffygy (12:31:20 AM): AAAAAAAAAAAAAAGGHHHHHHHHH!

  6. gokitalo Says:

    Beautiful.

  7. Spider-Man’s “One Moment in Time” « Eat More Comics Says:

    […] me when this post starts to look familiar. Yes, the image and title of this post were taken from one of the early reviews at the old […]

Leave a Reply

