Guess What Day It Is?! It’s Comicbook Day! 5/21/08

by

It’s already that time of the week again. This week, we have a few special things to look out for, and a way to help your dear Uncle Spiffy! Read on!

Dark Horse Comics

Indiana Jones and the Kingdom of the Crystal Skull #1: Dark Horse is the king of publishing comics based on movies, and they go all out with Indy, releasing 2 covers and a beast of a book for 5.99. It’s the first of a 7 issue mini series. I know nothing more about it than that, but that should be enough for die hard Dr. Jones fans. If you love the movie, I’m sure you’d love this issue!

DC Comics

World of Warcraft #7: There’s so many titles coming out for DC, and I prefer to let Goki recommend his favorites (JSA and Batman and the Outsiders, ‘natch), and prefer to make a fool out of myself in pointing out this WoW comicbook instead. I’ve never played WoW (and thank god, or I’d have no life), but I’m sure WoW fans already know about it, and while I’m not one of them, I’m just merely remarking at how this videogame could take over the world. Wait for the movie.

Image Comics

Invincible Universe Primer #1: I’ve read half of volume 1 of this fine series, and I believe it deserves more readers. Kirkman is one of the finest writers in comics (Walking Dead) and for a wonderful superhero book, people should check this out. That said….I’m not sure what this primer is all about.

Marvel Comics

Fantastic Four #557: I love this book. Millar and Hitch go old school with the FF, and it turns out refreshing because of it. There three issues have just been fun and adventuresome, just what the FF is all about. And plus, Hitch’s art is incredible, and not late (yet). If anyone doubts the awesomeness of the Fantastic Four (and many do after the movies), this will erase them with ease. Millar/Hitch are one of the best teams in comics.

Others:

A G Super Erotic Anthology #81: For adults, it’s 4.99 of erotic goodness. ‘Nuff said.

BOTTOMLESS BELLY BUTTON SC: I think it deserved to be in all caps. This is another great name for a title. For only 29.99, you can get this soft cover, and see if it’s really about a world in someone’s belly button, which is my guess. Or it’s the tale of the world’s most adventurous belly shot (har har).

Boy Who Made Silence #3: I kinda want to know how he made such a thing. Only kinda.

I got: Ultimates 2 #13, Moon Knight #13 and Runaways #24 in back issues, and got X-Factor, FF, Mighty Avengers and Captain America of the one’s coming out this week. I did not get JSA after reading the previous three issues, although don’t let that stop you. It’s a great book, just something I cannot get as much out of as other DC fans can.

P.S. Folks, I need some help! I am one issue away from completing Millar and Hitch’s Ultimates run. I am missing Ultimates 2 #12. I would gladly pay for shipping and handling and of the issue itself if found. Just let me know…and have a wonderful comicbook day!

7 Responses to “Guess What Day It Is?! It’s Comicbook Day! 5/21/08”

  1. gokitalo Says:

    Dude, I wish I could help, but I just went straight for the Ultimates 2 hardcover when it came out. The wait was EXCRUCIATING, but well worth it.

    I actually don’t read JSA and Batman and the Outsiders! The former was kind of slow last I checked, although I should give the latter a shot. There’s still some cool stuff worth checking out: Bedard returns to Birds of Prey with issue #118, Justice League of America sheds light on two of the major players in the upcoming Final Crisis, Brave and the Bold features the unlikely team-up of Jay Garrick and Batman, and Robin #174 continues Chuck Dixon’s triumphant return to the title. If you like Cyborg (the Titan, not the evil Superman), check out the first issue of his mini-series. I almost want to say check out The Spirit too, since it’s drawn by the mighty Paul Smith… although I hear the title hasn’t been the best since Darwyn Cooke left.

    Last month’s Fantastic Four was kind of disappointing (a bunch of superheroes get beat up to make the FF look good), but the preview pages for #557 looked promising. Anti-Galactus suit? Count me in.

    I hear the Boy Who Made Silence is great, and A G Super Erotic Anthology and Bottomless Belly Button sound like literary classics. Sadly, I don’t think I have the refined tastes for at least one of these titles.

  2. spiffyithaca Says:

    Yeah I meant if you can find Ultimates 2 #12 in the store itself or something in back issues, not from anyone’s collection.

    And I could’ve sworn you said you got Batman and The Outsiders at least. Oh well. My bad!

    I really liked the conclusion to the first arc. Great Reed/Sue stuff, and Reed is just the man.

    Do you know what the boy who made silence is about at all?

  3. gokitalo Says:

    Check it:
    http://www.5minedfields.com/about

  4. spiffyithaca Says:

    Wow, looks incredible

  5. joshua hagler Says:

    Hi Everyone,

    I’m a bit obsessive about tracking discussion on my book. With a small press book like mine, you do what you can to get people interested.

    In a nutshell, The Boy Who Made Silence is about Nestor Gudfred, a deaf boy growing up in a small town. In the first issue he creates what all the other characters refer to as a “silence.” The silence is investigated further in issues 2 an 3. The forward motion of the plot involves the church’s response to Nestor as Pastor Buddy, who secretly hasn’t believed in God for at least a decade and is diagnosed with a terminal illness, tries to fashion Nestor into a sort of prophet, ostensibly for the good of the people, but in a sense for his own salvation in the face of imminent death.

    Important characters are Esme, a girl who saves Nestor from drowning (which is what mysteriously caused his deafness in the first place); Mercy, his mother haunted by her own past; his father, who left when he was about four years old; and a strange upside-down, cat-faced visitor with whom only Nestor can communicate and see. Some characters become important later, such as Esme’s baby sister Nadine, who was born with a “smeared” face and three eyes, as well as several of the townspeople such as Sarah Belcher, an old lady with Alzeimer’s and her husband Normaldy.

    The response from critics so far has been wonderful, but the sales are shit. I’ll be the first to say it isn’t for everyone. It’s very layered and requires multiple reads to digest. Though it has a plot, it isn’t a plot-driven book. The focus is on the characters, and I let the plot progress slowly. There is a lot of experimentation happening, not only with the various media I’m using to draw and paint it, but with the various ways one can tell a story. There is experimentation within the language being used as well, as I borrow heavily from a Southern vernacular, while inventing my own rhythm and phrasing.

    I suppose that’s enough for here, but if you want to know more, I’ve done several interviews. I think the most insightful is probably this one:

    http://www.comicon.com/cgi-bin/ultimatebb.cgi?ubb=get_topic;f=36;t=007105

    There are other interviews on newsarama, comixology (podcast), sequential tart, and some others I’m forgetting. A lot of repeated questions, but all of them have something a little different.

    I hope that will help some of you decide whether you’d like to try out the series. It’s on issue 3 at the moment. The series is 12-issues worth of material total, but there will be some time off between the first and second half of the series.

    I’ve noticed that atomicbooks.com, badgercomics.com, and midtowncomics.com all carry it if you want to order. You can also order direct from AAM/Markosia, my publisher at http://www.markosia.com, where I now have a message forum that I have not used much yet. Much gratitude if you want to start a thread.

    Thanks for bringing it up.

    Josh
    http://www.myspace.com/theboywhomadesilence
    http://www.5minedfields.com

    p.s.–I noticed someone mentioning “Bottomless Bellybutton” by Dash Shaw. This is published by Fantagraphics and is one of the best GN’s I’ve read in a damn long while. Dash is acquaintance of mine, but by no means a close friend. So I say this out of genuine love for his book. It really is amazing.

  6. Gokitalo Says:

    Thanks for the 4-1-1, Josh! The premise sounds fascinating, and I’m definitely digging your art in those pages at The Pulse. I’ll try to keep my eye out for it the next time I head to the store so we can give it a review!

  7. spiffyithaca Says:

    Hey Josh, thanks for visiting our humble blog. It’s not much yet, but we hope to expand, and with it, expand into reading smaller books such as yours. The Boy Who Made Silence sounds really interesting and quite good. I love experimental art and what I saw on your website was very intriguing (while a big name, David Mack is incredible). Like my friend Goki, I’ll look for it at my comicbook store and look into ordering it online if I can’t find it, because I’m all for supporting the smaller guys.

Leave a Reply

