It’s Wednesday, buy your damn comics if your name isn’t Goki

by

Because Goki is the worst nerd ever.

And here are my obligatory Wednesday rankings that no one takes seriously (as they shouldn’t):

Dark Horse

Rex Mundi #12: This comic has always fascinated me. I bought issue 0 and 1 and maybe another one, and it was good and it was written by a guy named Eric J (I guess he didn’t want his last name on the title?), and haven’t kept track of it since. It’s been about 3 years since then…and it’s still on issue 12. So if you’re the type of guy who likes to spend a Friday night watching Conan in your sweat pants, you might want to buy a potentially awesome book that is all about low maintenance and delays (unless it’s supposed to be a biyearly book). I hope Eric J doesn’t post here and kick my ass.

DC Comics

Catwoman #80: I didn’t buy any DC this week….but if I had bought anything, it’d be this title (probably not true, I would’ve gotten Trinity #3). Catwoman has always been pretty excellent since it started as a new #1 , no matter who’s written it, so why the hell not? Probably a lot of reasons. I was lost on choices for this week because I didn’t want to promote mediocrity with Trinity, so hopefully Goki can give us a few nuggets of knowledge.

Image Comics

Kill All Parents #1: Shit. What happens in issue #2? I’m pretty sure titles like these are what prevents parents from letting their kids read comicbooks.

Marvel Comics

Astonishing X-Men Vol 4: Unstoppable: If you’re like me and haven’t finished one of the best runs in the past 10 years on X-Men, this trade is perfect, and it comes not two weeks after the final issue, which seems like stunning timing given the book’s only main drawback was it’s schedule. But hooray Marvel. And seriously, buy this.

Wolverine #66: FUCK. I forgot this at the store. Don’t do the same thing. It’s Millar and McNiven telling a dystopian future story starring Wolverine and a blind Hawkeye. Come on, how can that not be awesome?

Indies

Adolescent Radioactive Black Belt Hamsters #4: Man, they made it easy on me this week, having a gem like this beginning with ‘A’. It’s clearly a takeoff of Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles, and until someone else says otherwise, I deem this as crap.

Chiggers HC/SC: And I deem this as some hidden/subtle form of racism.

What Spiffy Bought: The Last Y trade, The Last Astonishing X-Men trade, Iron Fist Vol. 2 trade and Secret Invasion: FF #2. 3 trades and one issue. Weird. To be fair though, I’ll have to get Wolverine too.

Enjoy them comics and have a wonderful life. Go see the Hulk and read Goki and my review of it. Also, make a point to read Project: Fables, written by our resident Handsome Man, David Frakkin’ Youngblood. Peace.

5 Responses to “It’s Wednesday, buy your damn comics if your name isn’t Goki”

  1. davidry214 Says:

    Great post; as always, you made some fun finds, especially your comment on the Image one. Are you actually all caught up on Y except for your new purchase, are did you just get the trade until you can grab the rest?

    What AA bought:

    Secret Invasion: Fantastic Four #1 and #2
    Not until #2 comes out do I finally find a copy of #1, but I’ll take it. These are the only two I’ve read so far this week, and since they contain the only real reason I wanted to read Secret Invasion, I’ll recommend them.

    Secret Invasion: Who Do You Trust?
    A holdover from last week. I really don’t want to buy every damn special they put out on this crossover, especially with the ‘ground zero titles’ of New and Might Avengers both being just ok at best. But still, Marvel forced my hand on this one by offering a Beast/Wonder Man story.

    X-Factor #32
    The best non-Fables book on the market? How should I know, I only buy 10-12 books. But it is damn good.

    What AA meant to buy:
    Green Lantern Corps #25 from last week
    It’s supposed to start building toward some stuff that’ll spill over into the main GL title later this year; plus, Mongul. Oh well, it was gone, too sad. I’ll miraculously find it later, or I’ll just not care (smart money is on the latter).

    P.S.: I have too much Secret Invasion in my comics diet

  2. Gokitalo Says:

    Man, I thought Millar and McNiven’s Wolverine was out already. Definitely gonna get me some of that; despite some misgivings I had about Civil War, both creators can be really good.

    I’ve heard good things about Catwoman, but I dunno… I kind of want to get the rest of Brubaker’s stuff first. I’ve seen some preview pages of the Will Pfeiffer issues, but none grabbed me, really.

    As for Trinity… meh, I dunno. It’s been okay so far, but weekly comics can put a strain on the wallet.

    Other than those, there’s X-Factor, Brave and the Bold and Justice League of America.

    P.S. your post’s title and first sentence make me laugh and cry at the same time.

  3. Juan Ferreyra Says:

    I’m Not Eric J, but I’m the current artist on Rex Mundi, I’ll give you a little heads up, Eric J was the first artist on Rex, and it’s acyually written by Arvid Nelson, it’s on issue 12 but the Dark Horse edition, originally it came out from image going from issue 0 to 19,(I started drawing at issue 16) then we moved to Dark horse (12 is actually 30) and we are 7 issues away to the ending. 🙂
    so if you liked what you saw so far just get the trades.
    thanks for reviewing it!

  4. spiffyithaca Says:

    Hey Juan, thanks for clearing that up. I tend to make baseless comments in these posts not expecting creators to show up, but I’m glad you did! And now the issue number certainly makes a lot more sense. I will look into the trades, because it’s for sure a great and interesting read.

    Thanks for posting Juan and I hope we see you again and let us know what you’re up to after Rex Mundi finishes.

    –Spiffy

  5. Juan Ferreyra Says:

    cool! I’ll keep you posted on what happens next!
    thanks for caring and reading. 🙂

Leave a Reply

