Wednesday, 6/25: A Week To Remember

by

This week’s batch of comics promises at the very least to be bountiful, especially in comparison to the light load from last week (where yours truly bought 1 issue total). In fact, I might buy a record number of titles this week (I’m at least buying double digits). Go forward, and onward, for this week’s wild, random and brilliant recommendations for the week of 6/25/08!

DC Comics

Superman #677: James Robinson joins the Superman title, in an attempt to bring Supes back to the limelight. I don’t know what he plans on doing, but he did Starman, and Starman apparently is on par with Watchmen. If anything makes Superman interesting and someone to care about, it’s this guy. Give it a shot, even if I might not.

Final Crisis #2: Grant Morrison and JG Jones serve up issue 2 of DC’s big event of the year. #1 was enjoyable, and was the subject of our first three way review. Hopefully this one isn’t as confusing as the first one, but there’s big stuff afoot and there’s already been one huge death, and if there’s any DC book to get this week, this is probably the one.

Batman: Gotham After Midnite #2: I read #1, and it was a strong start. It’s a dark Batman adventure, brought to us by Steve Niles (who wrote horror sensation 30 Days Of Night). The art is really grim looking and very interesting. I just have this great feeling about this mini series, and it deserves more readers.

Madame Xanadu #1: A Vertigo title written by Matt Wagner (of Grendel fame) about fantasy and fortune telling. It could be fun, and quick, name ONE bad Vertigo title.

You can’t do it.

Dark Horse Comics

Loaded Bible TP Vol 1 (MR): I would characterize the bible as loaded in general, so seeing a comicbook with that title, and the mature readers label on it sounds very promising. I actually prematurely shot my load of cash for this week on what was supposed to be a dry run, so I won’t be able to afford the 16.99 cover charge, and am left with a mess on my hands*.

*Inspired by Arrested Development; to see how sacrilegious that statement was, read Loaded Bible

Marvel Comics

Fantastic Four #558: Millar and Hitch finished their first arc on FF last month, and I really enjoyed it. Now prepare for storyline numero 2, replete with the obligatory Doom appearance by anyone who’s ever written FF for any length of time. That said, I have hope that they will do something inspiring and new with the Doctor, my favorite villain of all-time and the moniker I had back in Comic Castle. He deserves it.

Marvel 1985 #2 (of 6): In a week filled with awesome, this second issue of Millar’s elseworlds tale of the Marvel Universe in 1985 might be the one I’m looking forward to the most. And that’s all you need to know. Buy this.

Runaways #30: Not that I have read his arc, but I think this is a notable issue: it marks the end of Joss Whedon’s 6 issue run on Runaways (and second run for Marvel after Astonishing), following up Vaughan’s tremendous storytelling. I haven’t heard anything about it…so hopefully I can be enlightened (cue Joss Whedon posting on this blog).

Mighty AND New Avengers: Bendis double dips this week, delivering a hard hit to my wallet. We get some long awaited answers in these issues: Who inspired the breakout that led to the New Avengers to band together in the first place….and (hopefully) what happened to Hank Pym?

Indies

I Shall Never Return GN Vol 3 (of 5) (MR): Another misleading title in comicdom. If you’re never returning, why have 5 damn volumes? Somebody can’t keep a promise.

Love Recipe GN Vol 2 (MR): Volume 1 of the Love Recipe taught all the basics, and led to much satisfaction, but I really hope Volume 2 brings it to the next level and teaches me the ways of nasal sex. And lefthanded masturbation; I can never get the hang of it.

 

I’m really sorry you actually read this week’s column folks, it was a doozy, and not in a good way. Here’s what Spiffy may or may not be getting:

Wolverine from last week, Final Crisis, Captain America, FF, Marvel 1985, Mighty and New Avengers, Secret Invasion: Runaways/Young Avengers, Thunderbolts and Batman: Gotham After Midnite. And I may buy Iron Fist, Daredevil, Superman and Thor Ages of Thunder: Reign of Blood (which will be awesome). Jesus.

Take out a loan, and travel to your store this week! Also, read our latest three way post, this time on Marvel’s burgeoning Hollywood power.

-Spiffy

4 Responses to “Wednesday, 6/25: A Week To Remember”

  1. Gokitalo Says:

    … nasal sex?

    It’s a very big week for me, too, both with Marvel and DC. Superman and Final Crisis are givens, I’ve been interested in Madame Xanadu for a while, Millar could write an awesome Doom in Fantastic Four, and 1985 is as interesting as it is unique.

    Oh, and Daredevil, can’t forget that. May Rucka and Brubaker bring the magic from Gotham Central to this series, because it’s exactly what it needs.

  2. davidry214 Says:

    Indeed, as Spiffy says, with a ridiculous amount of books coming out, this should truly be a week to remember. Will you remember it for its strong content or just its burden on your wallet? You’ll have to check out our reviews over the next week, but with some great creators involved, I’d lean toward the former.

    What AA Bought:

    Superman #677: Did I really buy a book about a character I usually only mildly like, by a writer I’ve technically never read? Well, yes. I debated it in my mind for a little while. What I came back to is the fact that I’m keeping my eyes peeled for a chance at buying James Robinson’s extremely highly regarded Starman run, which won’t be easy to do. If I can get in on the ground level of what could be his next big thing, I might be doing myself a favor.

    X-Men Legacy #213: Yet another book by someone I’ve actually never read. But like Robinson, Mike Carey is very well thought of by just about everyone who’s followed his work. Also, while I love X-Factor, I miss reading the core X-characters. If I really take to this or Uncanny (hopefully both), that’d be great.

    Madame Xanadu #1:
    It sounds really cool, and like Spiffy said, I’ve never read a Vertigo book I didn’t like.

    Final Crisis #2: Perhaps the most obvious choice of the week.

    Captain America #39: Very excited about this issue, the potential turning point of a great story.

    Green Lantern #32 and Green Lantern Corps #25: I don’t really get the point of the current GL story, and I have no clue if this issue of Corps (from two weeks ago) will be worth anything. But both should be laying groundwork for the ginormous Blackest Night event later this year.

    Mighty Avengers #15 and New Avengers #42: Call me gullible, but I actually have a feeling one of these issues will be worth the money.

    So there you have it, a total of nine new comics for me this week. That’s probably a good five short of my record (I used to be such an addict), but it’s nearly double my high since getting back into comics a few months ago.

    But hey, let’s see how much more it could’ve been, by looking at
    What AA Should’ve Bought:

    Pigeons From Hell #3: I admit, I don’t even know if my shop was carrying this particular Dark Horse comic. But, I saw it on Diamond’s shipping list and loved the title. But it said it was #3 of 4, and I was worried I’d be lost on the plot. Pigeons From Hell sounds like an intricate and complex work.

    Jack of Fables #23: This one I’m a bit more serious about. I didn’t have JoF on my hold list yet, and it was out. I want to get caught up on this book though, and I will.

    Angel Revelations #2: It’s about my former favorite character, Angel/Archangel. Not only that, it’s about his early days. The same early days in which he began as a hero, before joining the X-Men, under the name of the Avenging Angel, a little known fact that spurred the creation of my very own internet identity. Why on earth am I so disinterested in this mini? I can’t figure myself out.

    Black Panther #37: This was actually the closest of my non-buys. I’ve been torn about this book, because it rarely gets very good reviews, and I’m very aware that it won’t be close to Christopher Priest’s run, which I jizzed over daily. At the same time, I still love the character and want to give it a try. Even more so this time, because this issue features Killmonger, one of my very favorite BP villains (probably second only to White Wolf). If this hadn’t already been such a huge week for me, I would’ve gotten it.

    Daredevil #108: Brubaker, Rucka, and one of everyone’s favorite blind superheroes (though I prefer Mary Marvel). Yet I just didn’t care.

    Fantastic Four #558: Again, I can’t figure myself out. I used to be so very much all about the FF. And I’m certainly all about Millar, and have no doubt this is good. But for whatever reason, when I think about the books I want to try, I just don’t really care as much about this team, which I probably read longer than any other group back in the day. Maybe I got burned out, I don’t know.

    Hulk #4: I have no idea what’s going on, but Red Hulk vs. Green Hulk sounds exciting. I hope it ends with the two merging to become Blue Hulk. Do red and green mix to blue? I’m poor with colors.

    Marvel 1985 #2: I’m thinking of this as a trade buy, for whatever reason.

    Thunderbolts #121: I’ve been turned off by the fact that Busiek/Nicieza are no longer with the book, and neither is the classic lineup. But I must admit, the solit for this sounded very cool.

    Archie #586: They still make new Archie comics? I honestly had no clue.

    Gold Digger #97: But only if it’s written by Kanye West.

    Project Superpowers #4: I should’ve found a way to buy this, just to find out what company makes it, and promptly sue it. Those bastards clearly stole the Project _______ idea from me. And they’re good too, since they apparently did so before I came up with the idea myself.

    Alice in Wonderland Matter Hatter Doll: I’ve felt for a while like something was missing from my life. Now, I know what it is.

  3. spiffyithaca Says:

    I hope you do a review of Madame Zanadu, because I was really tempted to buy it, but it was one of the only one’s I didn’t buy last week. In hindsight, I should’ve gotten it instead of Superman.

    Marvel 1985 is good enough that you shouldn’t wait for the trade. I have a feeling that this will end up as a favorite of mine, and in a future 5 Comics I Love in 2011.

    T-Bolts was pretty good this week. It might mark the end of my run, as now it’s made way for a new team and Secret Invasion tie-ins, and I’d rather save my money, even if it is going to be pretty good (as I’ve read Gage’s stuff on T-Bolts before and elsewhere, and he’s talented).

    Yeah you should buy the Angel mini series. It’s not like I would ever NOT get a Doom mini series.

    I’m looking forward to your thoughts on all your stuff you got. I’m going to try and put together a post for all mine later tonight.

  4. davidry214 Says:

    Your wish is my command. My reviews coming up…

Leave a Reply

