Weekly Rankings For June 25th, 2008

by

In searching for a way to sum up all my comics reading for each week, I decided on bringing back something that AA and I used to do online and on CC4…Weekly Rankings! What follows is a mostly flimsy, meaningless write up of every issue of last week that yours truly bought and absorbed, ranking the titles from worst (or least best) to most awesome and Groin-like. Read on.

Weekly Rankings: 6/25/08

 

12. Superman #677: James Robinson, Renato Guedes. On a last second whim, I decided to pick up the first issue of Robinson’s run. Robinson is one of the most heralded writers in comics, and his arrival on Superman intrigued me enough to get the title, even if I’ve never really liked Supes. I wish I hadn’t, to be honest. It wasn’t a bad issue, but I really wish I hadn’t paid to watch Superman play fetch with Krypto, even if the scene featured Hal Jordan. Guedes’ art was inconsistent. It looked almost gorgeous sometimes, but in other panels and pages it was nothing special. I don’t think I’ll be around for issue 2.

 

11. Secret Invasion: Runaways/Young Avengers #1 (of 3): Chris Yost, Takeshi Miyazawa. Being a big fan of Runaways and as big a fan of the Young Avengers as one can be without ever reading their title, I was excited to check this out, especially with each team featuring intriguing players in the events to come: Hulkling, a half-Skrull, half-Kree shapeshifter, and Xavin, the Super Skrull apart of the Runaways gang. This issue was good fun and interesting, but nothing special. The art by Miyazawa was too cartoony and manga-ish for me, and that’s from being used to similar styles on Runaways in the past. I’m not too sure if I’ll be around for issue 2.

 

10. Mighty Avengers #15: Brian Michael Bendis, John Romita Jr. This tie-in was more of the same from Bendis in a week where both Avengers titles came out. It was something that was fairly obvious and didn’t progress anything, this time about Hank Pym. There was some cool stuff connecting Skrull Pym to Ultron and Doom in earlier issues of Mighty, and I did like the ending. What makes this issue rank so low was Romita’s art. For whatever reason it rubbed me the wrong way. I’ve always thought he was overrated, but his work on Kick-Ass has been incredible. But I have to say, he drew the worst skrull I’ve seen in a long time (it looked like the Hulk with blonde hair).

 

9. Batman: Gotham After Midnight #2 (of 12): Steve Niles, Kelley Jones. Kelley Jones’ dark art continues to astound me. I love the long flowing cape of Batman here, and the really long and pointy ears. The first issue was good set up, and I like the appearance of Man-Bat here, even if it was brief. I’m really intrigued to see what “Midnight” is up to, and I think this series is going to be a sleeper hit for me as it continues.

 

8. Captain America #39: Ed Brubaker, Rob De La Torre. For the life of me, I don’t know why this is so low, but I guess it’s because I didn’t feel like a helluva lot happened, and I was very underwhelmed by guest penciller Torre, after having Guice, Perkins and Epting for so long. The ending promises for excitement to come, and I’m looking forward to see how this continues to unravel, but this issue almost seemed like a filler issue for most parts.

 

7. Thunderbolts #121: Warren Ellis, Mike Deodato Jr. Maybe I’m ranking this unfairly, but this was a really good week. Deodato’s pencils were stellar as usual, and make me want him to do a big project in the coming months. This was the end of “Caged Angels” and featured an epic battle between Songbird and Green Goblin, followed by some awesome Bullseye moments (are there any other kind?). The end was great too. It’s sad that Ellis and Deodato are leaving the title (permanently?), but it does give me a chance to get a breather on a title while I avoid the Secret Invasion tie-in.

 

6. Wolverine #66: Mark Millar, Steve McNiven. Hyped “Old Man Logan” begins this week, and man, this first issue got me excited for the rest. McNiven’s art here is better than anything he did on Civil War and he was fairly excellent throughout during that epic mini series. He’s much grittier here, and it serves the purpose perfectly. I kind of got a Steve Dillon (Punisher) feel, and dug it. This was definitely an intro issue, but having a pacifist Logan, a blind Hawkeye and an evil Hulk family and other villains ruling the country was a damn good way to start. And hell, Hawkeye and Logan embark on a road trip in this issue, and who doesn’t love those?

 

5. Thor: Reign of Blood: Matt Fraction, Khari Evans, Patrick Zircher. This is the second one shot in a series of three by Fraction (Iron Fist, Invincible Iron Man), and while I don’t think it was as good as #1 (Ages of Thunder) it was some epic, badass shit. I love Thor as a dick and I love Thor set in Asgard. We got some hot Enchantress action, some jealous Odin, and Thor wreaking havoc in Earth, all setting up things for Thor: Man of War, which promises to be all kinds of awesome. Zircher and Evans art is very good as well, and doesn’t suffer at all from switching halfway (it’s a two part story).

 

4. Fantastic Four #558: Mark Millar, Bryan Hitch. Hitch, as usual, delivered his awesome pencils, and Millar got his FF run going here. Doom arrived at the end of last issue, looking for Richards for help, a fun little change of the norm. Then the “New Defenders” arrive, packing serious punch. We see some connections from other characters that have been involved previously and what Millar is trying to do is coming clear and it’s really exciting. Also: sweet ending.

 

3. 1985 #2: Mark Millar, Tommy Lee Edwards. Millar week continues (although Wolverine came out last week), and I already love this series no matter what, and it’s only been two issues. Tommy Lee Edwards’ art is fucktastic, and I don’t throw that word around lightly, and I just really like the blend of Marvel supervillains popping up in real life and Toby’s nightmarish personal life. I can’t wait to see how this continues.

 

2. New Avengers #42: Brian Michael Bendis, Jim Cheung. Now that’s more like it. We get the story of Spider-Woman and the Empress and just a lot of fun stuff that we have seen in the past couple years of Avengers titles and it ALL MAKES SENSE, and there’s just enough cool tidbits to make it so high on this list. I continue to love the Skrull meetings and Cheung’s art here was superb. If Yu doesn’t continue on this title after Secret Invasion, I wouldn’t mind Cheung being apart of it. The ending means we should get an epic issue 43.

 

1. Final Crisis #2: Grant Morrison, J.G. Jones. While I had some problems with this issue (I felt like the pace was off; alternately fast and slow and the issue almost read like a bunch of quick hits to the gut, which might’ve been purposeful), and I know I didn’t get the full scope of any of what happened, but because of what all did happen that I understood, it felt criminal not to rank it #1. I don’t know if that makes sense, but it did when I was writing this up. J.G. Jones’ art continues to please me, and especially liked his work with the Lanterns. Huge stuff happens with Batman, Superman, Hal Jordan, and basically every fucking character (although let’s get some Ollie in there, already). And there’s an ending to this issue that I’m sure has all fanboys in a tizzy (Goki’s groin is at full power).

 

 

Fucktastic Writer O’ The Week: Millar, Bendis and Morrison. I’m not going to choose.

Fucktastic Artist O’ The Week: Tommy Lee Edwards (1985), with a nod to McNiven

Titles That Bit The Dust: Superman and possibly SI: Runaways/Young Avengers.

4 Responses to “Weekly Rankings For June 25th, 2008”

  1. davidry214 Says:

    I’ll write about our books in common in my post, but I could have predicted Runaways/YA would suck 😉

    I’m glad 1985 rules, and Wolverine sounds pretty intriguing, as does that Batman book.

    I am surprised Hitch didn’t make the top two on Fucktastic Artist, though.

  2. spiffyithaca Says:

    Yeah I forgot to put him there, for whatever reason. He should be there with McNiven.

    And Runways/YA didn’t suck, so there. And the Civil War story about them was pretty good, so I thought I’d give it a shot.

  3. davidry214 Says:

    Never even heard of McNiven. Heard of David Niven, who was the shit. What else has he done?

  4. spiffyithaca Says:

    Steve McNiven did Civil War, a bunch of Crossgen stuff and now Wolverine. To quote Ron Burgandy, He’s kind of a big deal.

    He’s also Canadian and has also done some work on District X and New Avengers.

Leave a Reply

