7/2 comics: better early than late

by

In penance for taking forever to do last week’s reviews, I’m going to jump right in and give my thoughts about this week. Should be a lot easier, since I only bought three books.

 

The Best

Fables #74:  Let’s be honest, this placement was pretty much a foregone conclusion. And actually, this wasn’t even that great by Fables standards. It was mostly a (relatively) breather issue in preparation for the earth-shattering 75th issue (which thankfully comes out in just three weeks!). But even then, it was great. All the war plans come together in very cool ways. The best character work is actually done on the bad guys: the Adversary is having some fascinating turns and twists, and there’s a really contemplative conversation between the Snow Queen and the Emperor. It almost seemed to have some undertones to current events, yet at the same time, distanced itself from becoming a clear message statement. I think I liked that. To quote god (kinda) on Futurama: “When you do things right, people won’t be sure you’ve done anything at all.”  Very strong issue, and I really can’t wait for the next one, which promises to shake up this entire series.

 

The Worst

 

Astonishing X-Men #25: I was kinda hoping I wouldn’t even need a “Worst” segment since it was such a short week, but Astonishing unfortunately forced my hand. There was really just nothing about this issue that interested me. The angle was dull, and very few of the characters came across as remotely likable (especially Armor and Storm, but I’ve never cared much for Storm). Some of the Wolverine/Cyclops interaction was quite good, but most of the rest of it did nothing for me. The stuff discussed near the end, which I assume will be the focus on Warren Ellis’ first arc, did little to pique my curiosity, so I doubt I’ll be continuing with this book. I will say that I was pleasantly surprised by Simone Bianchi’s art, which was good overall. She was a bit inconsistent, with some weak panels scattered across the issue, but mostly was very good. I particularly liked her Beast, a cool-looking combination of his classic look and Frank Quitely’s redesign.

 

The Rest

Batman #678: Part three of “Batman R.I.P.” was arguably the best edition of the story yet. It still isn’t great necessarily, but it’s getting pretty cool. Can’t go wrong with Bruce on the streets. Some of his thoughts and development points were impressive. I can’t say I liked the reveal about his street companion at the end; it was rather cliched I thought. But I’d recommend this, and I have fairly high hopes for where this could go.

 

Best Writer: Bill Willingham, Fables

Best Artist: Tony Daniel, Batman; Simone Bianchi, Astonishing X-Men

2 Responses to “7/2 comics: better early than late”

  1. spiffyithaca Says:

    I haven’t read Batman yet, but I liked Astonishing a bit more than you, but I wasn’t that excited about it and I don’t think I liked Bianchi’s art as much.

    And go Fables. I need to catch up on that, dammit.

  2. davidry214 Says:

    I shouldn’t have given Bianchi co-best artist, but I really did like her Beast

Leave a Reply

