AA’s Judgment: Comic for 8/6/08

by

That’s not a typo in the title; I actually only have one comic to review for you this week. I bought three, but am holding off on reading the other two until I get caught up on the books (see the Weekly Recommendations e-mail for details). That just leaves me one issue to judge, so this week’s edition will be a quickie.

THE ONLY

Final Crisis #3 (Writer: Grant Morrison. Artist: J.G. Jones.)

If this had came out in a larger week, it would have fallen into the “The Rest” category. I felt pretty similar about this issue as I did the first two: it was pretty good, but it wasn’t quite great. Like those two, it had some legit high points. The biggest one was the continuation of last month’s cliffhanger ending; the follow-ups in this issue intentionally still left plenty of questions, but they were cool enough to grab your attention strongly. The rest of the issue was a bit of a mixed bag. There was a very good, albeit brief, Superman scene, but unfortunately,  nothing special for Batman or Green Lantern after intriguing parts from both of them last month. The “draft” concept was interesting, but I had some misgivings about it. The struggle of wills between Libra and Luthor was good, but shouldn’t we be past that by now, considering we’re reaching near the halfway point of the series? I enjoyed this issue, so I don’t mean to dwell on flaws, but the biggest problem to me is that the New Gods angles are still falling short IMO, and even though most everything else has been at least decent and often fairly impressive, Morrison is eventually going to have to be able to completely sell the gods in order for this event to be a success. That section is moving slowly and, in general, it still doesn’t work for me. As a result, it’s hard to feel this on a cosmic level, and that’s a huge obstacle, because at the moment, this just doesn’t feel like a Crisis. It’s a good story, but when you call it Final Crisis, it’s going to be judged on a level separate than most good stories are. There’s still a lot of promise here, even though I think the base hasn’t been laid quickly. Obviously, we’ll see where it goes from here. With that one prominent blast from the past character involved, I think we may still see this series reach the next level soon.

 

So that’s it for the week, but check back in the next day or two for another, more special post. I may not have had much to review for new comics, but I’m about to start my giant post for Project: Swamp Thing, and you’ll want to read that one.

2 Responses to “AA’s Judgment: Comic for 8/6/08”

  1. spiffyithaca Says:

    Wow, looking forward to seeing the Swamp Thing post. Can’t wait!

    As for Final Crisis, you definitely liked this more than me, even though I didn’t hate it as much as my review made it seem like. The Flash and Supes stuff was great, but nothing really stood out and the rest was all confusing to me still

  2. davidry214 Says:

    I didn’t mean to imply I liked it much, so unless you did just really hate it, we were probably pretty similar.

Leave a Reply

