Weekly Recommendations for August 27th, 2008

by

AA has performed admirably in my stead, and I welcome his probably equally funny or more funny follow up post, but Spiffy’s back. And you know what that means: I actually categorize my posts.

Read on for mediocre witticisms.

DC

Ambush Bug: Year None #2: The most ridiculous comicbook on the stands, and in a completely awesome way. I’m down. Tell your friends.

Final Crisis: Rogues Revenge #2: I’m pumped for some Johns and Kollins. The first issue was stellar, this one could challenge for fucktastic status this week.

Image

Surreal Adventures of Edgar Allan Poo Vol 2: At first I thought this was a lame comic featuring Poe, and then I realized the eminently clever pun in the title. Surreal and Poo never sounded so hott.

Vix #2 (of 3): I had something more clever planned, but fuck it. What rhymes with Vix? (Hint: Begins with a d and ends with an ix)

Marvel

Immortal Iron Fist #18: First I caught up to the book, reading Brubaker and Fraction’s magical 16 issue run. Then they were gone, replaced by Duane S-Whatsit, someone I was unfamiliar with. I was disheartened, but #17 was AWESOME, and now I’m as hooked as can be, except the replacement of David Aja by Travel Foreman has not been as impressive, but I’m willing to give a little lee way.

Marvel Your Universe Saga: Marvel Your Mom.

Both Mighty and New Avengers come out today, and I’m willing to bet that New Avengers will be awesome and Mighty will blow. Or the other way around. But it might be too much to ask to get two good SI tie-ins.

Runaways 3 #1: If Humberto Ramos wasn’t doing art, I would be so pumped for this. Now, I doubt I’ll even get it.

Wolverine #68: Millar and McNiven’s Old Man Logan has been great so far, and this issue might be what I’m most excited for than anything. Get onboard this run, ladies and germs.

The Drivel

Arsenic Lullaby Pulp Edition: What kind of sick fucking lullaby is this?! Only in this fucking country. I’m moving to Bermuda.

Burn #5: No, you burn. Prick.

Contract #2: This wins most useless and vague title of the week award. It wasn’t even close. Burn didn’t stand a chance.

Chinese Hero: Isn’t this an oxymoron? …..Heyo! (Please don’t murder me, China)

Freedom Formula #2: Uncle Sam has been cooking and formulating for years, and now….IT’S HERE! TO MEXICO!!!

And as far as merchandise goes, the only thing that caught my eye was the ominous sounding “Where the Deep Ones Are”. It sounds like a map detailing the world’s finest and tastiest cougars and their sopping gorges, but it could be a book on meditation or something “deep”.

 

Spiffy is getting way too much: Ambush Bug, Wolverine, Daredevil (I might just read a friend’s copy), Batman: Gotham After Midnight, Rogues Revenge, Iron Fist, Mighty and New Avengers and mayhaps Runaways.

See ya next week, fuckers.

One Response to “Weekly Recommendations for August 27th, 2008”

  1. Gokitalo Says:

    And as far as merchandise goes, the only thing that caught my eye was the ominous sounding “Where the Deep Ones Are”. It sounds like a map detailing the world’s finest and tastiest cougars and their sopping gorges, but it could be a book on meditation or something “deep”.

    I’m speechless.

Leave a Reply

