Reviews for the Week of Oct 1st, 2008

by

Three titles came out for me, so I can actually get to these BEFORE the current week’s comics come out. Wow, I’m almost on my game. Someone read these.

3. Sub-Mariner: The Depths #2 (of 5): Peter Milligan, Esad Ribic. This was a great issue, but the other two issues this week were just a bit better. I have no complaints from Ribic’s gorgeous paint job, aside from some weird faces in this one, but he’s still phenomenal, and really someone who should be doing a sweet mini series like this all the time. The mini is shaping up to be a psychological drama, as Dr. Stein continues to have his mind bend from the cold, dark, deep, water. Dreams, craziness and still no full on sight of Namor, color this issue. It’s good stuff and it reads like a movie, and I have a feeling #3 won’t suffer last place.

2. Cable #7: Duane Swierczynski, Ariel Olivetti. I started on Cable with the last issue, which was a Cyclops centric issue, and almost no Cable action. Now we get both storylines going, with Cyclops going after Bishop, and Cable in a town called New Liberty in the distant future with the Messiah Baby. There’s a lot of good stuff here, most of it featuring the insane Bishop. I kinda wish I had read issues #2-5, but this series has a lot of good things going for it, and I’m glad I jumped onboard, even if I didn’t need to be buying any more comics monthly.

1. Batman #680: Grant Morrison, Tony Daniel. The penultimate chapter in Batman RIP is here, and it’s damn good. After last issue’s Joker ending, we get a lot of Joker goodness here. He’s as creepy and scary as I’ve seen him in comics. We learn more about the game that Black Glove is playing, and the Batman of Zurr-En-Arrh is just so cool. I don’t want to say anything to spoil it, but the ending is pretty fucked up. Tony Daniel’s art continues to enthrall. He has quickly become one of my favorites in the industry, and he’s been the most consistent force on this book since I started picking it up. The conclusion to this could actually make this story live up to the hype, despite the muddled and subpar beginning. Since then, it’s been a consistently sweet/nuts title. I really don’t know what Morrison has planned for Bruce Wayne, but it doesn’t look good.

Fucktastic Writer of the Week: Grant Morrison.

Fucktastic Artists of the Week: Tony Daniel, Esad Ribic.

5 Responses to “Reviews for the Week of Oct 1st, 2008”

  1. Gokitalo Says:

    I just got the latest Batman RIP today and can’t wait to read it. I’ve heard so much good stuff about this issue.

    I was THIS close to getting Submariner! But my wallet said no. I could still catch up, but since this is a mini-series, part me wonders if I should trade-wait…

  2. Gokitalo Says:

    Read Batman #680. Very well done, but the ending confused me. May need to re-read it again…

  3. Gokitalo Says:

    Whoa, scratch that, I just got it (thank you, Internet). Quite a twist!

  4. spiffyithaca Says:

    Sub Mariner has been more interesting than awesome so far, but Ribic’s art is worth it. I suppose there’s no harm in waiting for the trade, especially since you’ll know if, by the end, it’s all worth it (because I’ll tell ya!).

    I’m not sure I realized exactly what happened at the end of #680 myself, so I may need to check up on that.

  5. Gokitalo Says:

    Look at the last page and keep thinking “Black Glove” while you read it. That might make things click.

Leave a Reply

