Weekly Recommendations for 10/8/08

by

They’re on time! Hurrah! Click on for about 3 ounces of hilarity

Dark Horse

Rex Mundi DH ED #14: Now we know Rex Mundi plays for the American League. Har-har har.

DC

DC Comics Go Ape TP: So was Marvel Apes a cheap knock off of this? And why on earth does anyone think it was a good idea for anyone to go “ape”, let alone both companies? Copy the good ideas, folks.

Ferryman #1 (of 5): The first issue of the highly acclaimed new series about the most underrated form of transportation in the world hits stands today. Read it, man.

Secret Six #2: Gail Simone’s new series hits #2. The first issue was fun. Nothing mindblowing, but a cool set up, leading to a Batman vs Catman fight. Really.

Marvel

Ender’s Game Battle School #1 (of 5): This comic is based on the highly acclaimed sci-fi series written by Orson Scott Card (who also writes Ultimate Iron Man). I know very little about the actual comic (but I am a big fan of Ender), but the fact that I read about it in Entertainment Weekly means it’s getting some buzz. I can’t wait to see how it translates, and I’m in.

Spider-Man Loves Mary Jane Season 2 #3: In this episode, Spider-Man makes a deal with the devil to save Aunt May’s life, but has to forget Mary Jane forever. Oh wait…

Indies

Drafted #11: This is either a cunning comic about fantasy sports, or getting drafted into the war. You know which one I hope it is. And for the record, with the 11th pick in the draft, I’d take Drew Brees. Seriously.

Eyeshield 21 TP Vol 22: This is what girls wear when they meet Goki. Zing!

Fist of Justice #3: This gives fist fucking all new meaning

Galaxy Quest Global Warming #3: There’s a Galaxy Quest comicbook?! By Rapthar’s (sp?) hammer, you shall be avenged!

Giant Sized Red Sonja #2: Something tells me that the only reason Red Sonja exists is for her lean sexy body, so a giant sized version of her seems like a bad marketing move. It’s a shame society is so sexist, or else this ploy could really work!

I Was Kidnapped By Lesbian Pirates in Outerspace #3 (of 6): If I see this comicbook in the store, I buy it instantly. I can’t even make fun of this.

Love and Capes #8: I was worried that someone had stolen my “Love and Crepes” idea, but I seem safe.

Presidential Material Flipbook: There’s also a informational booklet on Obama and McCain. Comics really can be political!

You Aint No Dancer GN Vol 3: How dare you insult our dancing, sir!

 

Wow that was more painful than usual. My apologies. I’m not used to doing this anymore.

What Spiffy is getting: Secret Six, Avengers/Invaders and Ender’s Game. I will take a look at Green Arrow/Black Canary and will probably pilfer my friend’s copy of Invincible Iron Man.

Thanks for reading. Sorry again.

5 Responses to “Weekly Recommendations for 10/8/08”

  1. Adam Says:

    I’m a little bit behind, but these recommendations look very solid to me. Not painful to read in the least, despite protestations to the contrary.

  2. Gokitalo Says:

    Spider-Man Loves Mary Jane Season 2 #3: In this episode, Spider-Man makes a deal with the devil to save Aunt May’s life, but has to forget Mary Jane forever. Oh wait…

    This was my favorite.

    Eyeshield 21 TP Vol 22: This is what girls wear when they meet Goki. Zing!

    This was a LIE

    I’m going to add a recommendation of my own here: Action Comics #870, in which Geoff Johns finishes his impressive reinterpretation of Brainiac. It’s been a great story so far, and the ending to this issue (which my sister unintentionally spoiled for me, sigh) made headlines.

  3. spiffyithaca Says:

    Your sister sounds like a b—h

  4. Gokitalo Says:

    She’s NOT a bath!

  5. spiffyithaca Says:

    She is too a booth!

Leave a Reply

