Reviews for the Week of October 8th, 2008

by

Whoo-eee! We’re already two weeks through October (jesus!), and this week, 3 more titles came out and graced my presence. One was based on a high profile sci-fi book series, one is by Gail Simone, and the other features Alex Ross covers. Which is #1? Fuck if I know, I ad lib these.

Honestly, it’s virtually impossible to rank these, because they all deserve the #1 spot in such a small week, but I’ll force myself to make a decision, rather than making a tie.

3. Ender’s Game: Battle School #1 (of 5): Christopher Yost, Pasqual Ferry. This issue isn’t bad at all, but it gets the bottom rung because it was an extra sized issue that didn’t seem like it packed as much punch as the other two issues. I’ve read Ender’s Game and all the other books in the Ender series (and I’m slowly working my way through the Bean books), so I’m a big fan of Orson Scott Card’s universe. It’s very complicated, philosophical stuff, but Ender’s Game is the most kid friendly, and the most comicbook friendly. Ferry, the artist, someone I’m not really familiar with, does a good job here. He’s not spectacular, but he can express great emotions in his unique pencils, and the colors by Frank D’Armata, are so vibrant. Judging by Ferry’s cover and the last page, the more space-y and otherworldly the story gets, the more awesome the art will be, so I think he’ll prove to be a good choice. Yost does a good job starting things off here, but at the same time, for what was covered, it seems like this should be more than a 5 issue limited series. But there was good stuff, as we’re introduced to Ender/Andrew and his two siblings, Peter and Valentine. I’m looking forward to #2. Fans of the series won’t be disappointed by this issue, as it offers some goodness in our future.

2. Avengers/Invaders #5 (of 12): Alex Ross and Jim Kreuger, Steve Sadowski. It took a month off and I honestly didn’t miss it. But I decided to buy this issue anyways, and I’m glad I did. There proves to be a lot of nuggets in this one, including a very interesting Bucky/Bucky scene, and an excellent scene between Steve Rogers and Iron Man. I do have qualms with this issue however. Krueger and Ross almost seem to be trying TOO hard with Spider-Man and his jokes, and it comes off as stilted, and speaking of stilted, take a gander at most of Steve Sadowski’s action scenes. He does some great work drawing the Human Torch/Jim Hammond and Cap/Iron Man, but a lot of the times the art is wholly mediocre. It makes me wonder how much more I’d like this series if Ross was doing the art chores. But other than that, Krueger and Ross end this on a bang, and while I was wondering why this series was 12 issues (because it seemed like it could be wrapped up in 8), I’m not anymore. This mini isn’t out of the woods yet, but I’m intrigued to see if there truly are ramifications in the Marvel Universe, because for a time epic this big, and the butterfly effects that SHOULD happen, the Marvel Universe should not even exist after this mini series (talk about going out with a bang!).

1. Secret Six #2: Gail Simone, Nicola Scott. With the first issue, I kinda lamented Scott’s presence on the title, saying that he was too cartoony and Ed Benes-y, for this title. After this issue, I think I’m wrong: he can handle it. His art here is awesome, making Junior a very creepy and awesome looking villain, and handling every other character equally well. Gail Simone gets her humor on, with some great moments with Rag Doll and Bane, and a security guard at Alcatraz. But the highlight? The Batman vs. Catman fight. It was promised on the cover, but the banter between them was excellent, hilarious and so Simone (and there were some punches thrown too). After two issues I can already see this book challenge for my favorite DC book, with Batman and Booster Gold.

Fucktastic Writer of the Week: Gail Simone, Secret Six.

Fucktastic Artist of the Week: Nicola Scott would get the nod, but nobody was fucktastic this week. Sorry pal.

5 Responses to “Reviews for the Week of October 8th, 2008”

  1. Gail Says:

    Thank you for the kind words, Goki, although I have to disagree with you about Nicola, whom I think is one of the best artists going.

    And she’s a she, just for the record.

    But thanks!

  2. spiffyithaca Says:

    I never have trouble sticking my foot in my mouth! I messed up on the gender, that’s for sure, and thanks for pointing that out!

    But what I meant to say, and I’m not sure if it’s clear, is that after the first issue I wasn’t sure that Scott would be the perfect fit for Six, but I had my concerns squashed by this issue. She was the best artist of the three titles that I read this week, and I really liked her work.

    Thanks for stopping by Gail (is that really you?!)!

    -Spiffy

  3. Gokitalo Says:

    Spiffy was our reviewer this time around, but thanks for dropping by, Gail! I just read Secret Six #1 and 2 myself today and loved ’em both. This is an ongoing and not a mini-series, right?

  4. Gail Says:

    Yep, ongoing. Hurrah!

    And thanks again, glad you guys liked it. We have some genuinely horrible stuff coming up. 🙂

  5. Gokitalo Says:

    Yesss, horrible stuff rules!

Leave a Reply

