Weekly Recommendations for Oct 22nd, 2008

by

I just finished my comics Monday, and already, a new pile begins a new! It’s a huge week, featuring the next installment in the two biggest crossovers of the year! Read on for mediocrity.

DC

DC Universe Halloween 08: Celebrate the spookiest night of the year with all your favorite super heroes and villains. Or, you know, dress up and trick or treat or drink, or both, depending on your age or creed. Don’t buy this book. It’s for chumps.

Final Crisis #4 (of 7): It’s been so long since #3 that I hardly remember what happened, which doesn’t help the fact that it’s really hard for me to understand what’s going on to begin with. Oh well. I bought it to stay cool. You should, too.

Final Crisis: Submit #1: I didn’t submit.

Marvel

Captain America #43: Now we get to see what Ed Brubaker plans for AFTER one of the greatest arcs in comics history (do I exaggerate? read it and see for yourself wise ass), and color me excited/nervous/bubbly. This is probably the thing I’m most excited for that came out this week….well, except…

Secret Invasion #7 (of 8): It seems like forever ago that this crossover started, and I’m actually almost looking forward to a post-SI world more than this issue, but I still can’t wait to see how this all ends. Bendis has slacked on the tie-ins, but this series hasn’t disappointed. Anything less than the best of the week would be a huge disappointment.

New Avengers #46: The secret with the Avengers tie-ins is generally to ignore Mighty, which I have the past few months, and buy New, which usually isn’t special but still a cool and good read, and has much better art. Billy Tan is here to stay ladies and gents (and I hope he doesn’t leave New after SI ends). This issue has to deal with The Hood and the gang of villains that have been messing up the streets. Is The Hood a skrull or something? That would explain a lot. We’ll see where Bendis goes with this.

Indies

Boys Over Flowers TP Vol 32: I don’t think you can have a less straight comicbook title.

Challenger Deep #3 (of 4): Maybe I spoke prematurely….

Complete Ass Fucking Tp Vol 1: Okay, so it’s Ace Trucking, but that would be the most gay comicbook title of all time, bar none.

French Milk GN: You don’t want any part of this shit. It goes bad even faster than American milk! And it doesn’t shave its armpits (sorry french readers)!

Trains Are Mint GN: No, trains are trains. I can see why you’d think that thought.

United States Constitution Adaptation SC: I don’t understand why Marvel or DC didn’t snap up the rights to this in a heartbeat!

We Can Still Be Friends GN: But no more Ace Trucking!

 

What Spiffy Bought: Secret Invasion, Final Crisis, Batman: Gotham After Midnight #6, X-Men Legacy #217, New Avengers and Captain America.

4 Responses to “Weekly Recommendations for Oct 22nd, 2008”

  1. Gokitalo Says:

    “We Can Still Be Friends GN: But no more Ace Trucking!”

    Gold.

    Also out this week is the Superman: New Krypton special, which kicks off the big crossover between Action Comics, Superman and Supergirl. Action Comics has been great lately, the latest Supergirl was a breath of fresh air and James Robinson is capable of greatness, so this crossover could be worth checking out, even if you’re not a Superman fan. I was actually going to link to a few articles about “New Krypton” in “Goki’s Giving News,” but they deserve get their own post (if only because they’re HUGE).

    That said… I’m not sure I’ll get “New Krypton.” I’m still miffed about the ending to Action Comics #870!

  2. gokitalo Says:

    Oh yeah, Daredevil’s out this week too. Lady Bullseye!

  3. spiffyithaca Says:

    Gold indeed!

    Thanks for spotlighting the Supes titles…someone has to. But actually, I was hoping you could shed some light on Final Crisis: Submit. I was expecting to get it but when I flipped through it I wasn’t excited for “Black Lightning”, so I decided against it. What can you tell us, dear Goki, about this tie-in?

  4. Gokitalo Says:

    I think this one, written by Grant Morrison and starring Black Lightning and the Tatooed Man, is meant to be a street-level view of Final Crisis. I hear it’s good, so I’ll be buying it either this week or next… and maybe even reviewing it!

Leave a Reply

