Weekly Recommendations for 11/19/08

by

A delightful week of comics grace us with our presence. But only a few come with recommendations by Spiffy….

Dark Horse

Conan the Cimmerian #5: I don’t read it, but a friend of mine does, and he loves it. Just saying.

DC Comics

Honestly, after stopping Ambush Bug, nothing entices me this week. This is Weekly Recommendations history, ladies and gentlemen!

Image Comics

Dead Space HC: This must be about AA.

Invincible #55: It’s by far the best Image book out, and one of the best books overall. Yeah that’s right, Spiffy’s read the first three hardcovers! Suck it to all who think I only read Marvel and DC.

Marvel Comics

Ender’s Game: Battle School #2: Based on Orson Scott Card’s bestselling and awesome sci-fi book, the first issue was quite good, and I’m excited for issue numero dos.

Fantastic Four #561: Mark Millar and Bryan Hitch are one of the best duos in the history of comics (hyperbole? fuck you), and this is quite a story there drudging up. There’s future Hulk, Galactus and just oodles of potential oozing from the pages of this book. I can’t wait for the rest of this storyline. This is the best FF has been since Waid.

X-Men Legacy #218: The last issue was one of the weakest of the Carey run, and I refused to purchase this one. Why? Because it’s a goddamned crossover with Wolverine Origins. Who the fuck gives a shit about Wolverine’s horrible son? Ugh.

Indies

Gauze #1: This is an awesome title. I can’t even make fun of it. It’s intriguing, dirty and sounds like the potential for blood and guts. Sweet.

Petey & Pussy HC: And this isn’t mature rated.

Skitzy HC: The award winning book about a schizophrenic named Harold who loves little boys one day, and knives pigeons the next.

Swallow Me Whole: …………….Are you kidding me? I can’t make this shit up. I have wet dreams about comics titled like these, and of course, I’m too stunned when I have such a beaut land on my lap.

 

That is all. Sorry I mailed it in folks.

Spiffy bought Ender’s Game, Moon Knight, FF and Uncanny X-Men this week. He said no to Legacy and Avengers/Invaders, two of his usual purchases.

4 Responses to “Weekly Recommendations for 11/19/08”

  1. Gokitalo Says:

    “Fantastic Four #561: Mark Millar and Bryan Hitch are one of the best duos in the history of comics (hyperbole? fuck you)”

    Line of the year. And if you think that’s hyperbole…

    “There’s future Hulk, Galactus and just oodles of potential oozing from the pages of this book. I can’t wait for the rest of this storyline. This is the best FF has been since Waid.”

    That reminds me, I’ve got to buy the rest of Waid’s FF trades. And maybe catch up on Millar and Hitch’s FF, while I’m at it.

    “X-Men Legacy #218: The last issue was one of the weakest of the Carey run, and I refused to purchase this one. Why? Because it’s a goddamned crossover with Wolverine Origins. Who the fuck gives a shit about Wolverine’s horrible son? Ugh.”

    I’ll admit I haven’t read Wolverine: Origins, but I have no interest in Wolverine’s son or whatever “dark, terrible secrets” have been inserted into his or Professor X’s past this time around. Knock off the retcons, Marvel!

    DC stuff IS sparse this week, but if there’s one thing I recommend getting (other than perhaps Jack Kirby’s The Demon, which is fifty bucks), it’s Robin: Violent Tendencies. This trade collects Chuck Dixon’s all-too-brief return to the series, and it was great while it lasted. Solid action, snappy dialogue and the return of a fan-favorite character. What more could you ask for?

    Oh, Supergirl might be good too, although if you haven’t been keeping up with “New Krypton” (*raises hand*), you might be lost.

    I actually Googled Swallow Me Whole and apparently, it’s very good. Check it:
    http://www.comicsbulletin.com/reviews/122593793182156.htm
    http://www.topshelfcomix.com/catalog.php?type=30&title=567

  2. spiffyithaca Says:

    Waid and Wieringo were a great team. This arc by Millar and Hitch is already approaching that level.

    I also hate crossovers between X-titles, especially when useless, on principle. Just keep it to Wolverine.

    Wow Swallow Me Whole is apparently incredible, good searching Goki. It figures that it’s God’s gift to comicdom. But it’s asking for it with a name like that (insert post by author now).

  3. Gokitalo Says:

    “I also hate crossovers between X-titles, especially when useless, on principle.”

    Although “Messiah Complex” is the exception to the rule, right? I’m tempted to get that.

    Other than that, I think I may be a little “X-Men’ed” out. Astonishing has been underwhelming and I skipped the last few X-Factor issues. The X-Men Legacy issues I read had their moments, but not enough to keep me onboard long term. How’s Fraction and Brubaker’s Uncanny X-Men doing, by the way?

  4. spiffyithaca Says:

    True. Messiah CompleX was great. I guess I have to swallow that last point WHOLE.

    Uncanny X-Men has been solid, but it hasn’t been particularly great or anything. Fraction was the only writer for the last issue, actually. I don’t know if that’s a lasting thing or if they’re switching arcs or what. So far I like it, but I want more if I’m going to stay onboard for the long haul.

Leave a Reply

