Weekly Recommendations for 12/4/08

by

The start of the last month of the year. The home stretch is on, and Secret Invasion’s final issue is here!

Edit: Because comics is the only medium in the world that has its entire product line moved back a day for a holiday that was almost a week in advance of the shipping date, comics will come out the 4th. And because of that, I’m actually early with recommendations. There’s a first time for everything, apparently.

DC Comics

Batman #682: One week after the excellent RIP finale, we already get the beginning of the next phase for the Dark Knight. Who’s stoked? I am.

Image Comics

I Hate Gallant Girl #2 (of 3): She steals my cereal and is such a bitch!

Jingle Belle Santa Claus vs Frankenstein (One Shot): Holy shit, this looks like a keeper.

Marvel Comics

Immortal Iron Fist #20: Duane Swierczynski (I can spell that without looking it up, ‘natch) finishes up his first arch on Iron Fist, and I’m expecting great things. He’s been stellar since replacing the incredible Brubaker/Fraction team that reinvigorated the character. Duane’s made sure the character has staying power.

Moon Knight Silent Knight #1: Is this a christmas special on Moon Knight, or just a regular oneshot? Hell if I know. I don’t get paid to do research for you.

Secret Invasion #8 (of 8): If there’s one comic to buy this week (unless you are woefully ignorant of the SI crossover), this is it. While it hasn’t been as awesome as I’d hoped, there’s been some greatness here, and honestly, whether the crossover was successful or not COMES DOWN TO THIS ISSUE. Check it out.

Indies

Let’s Find Pokemon Tons of Fun Amusement Park HC: You can just tell that title was translated from Japanese, and this is officially the thing I’m most excited for. Finding Pokemon IS tons of fun!

And since I’m swamped, I leave the dirty jokes to yourselves this week.

Spiffy will be buying Batman, SI, Iron Fist and New Avengers for certain. He will be scouring the earth for the finale of Sub Mariner, and may buy Cable and the Moon Knight special.

See ya next week folks!

2 Responses to “Weekly Recommendations for 12/4/08”

  1. Gokitalo Says:

    “If there’s one comic to buy this week (unless you are woefully ignorant of the SI crossover)”

    BAHAHAHAHAHA

    “Let’s Find Pokemon Tons of Fun Amusement Park HC: You can just tell that title was translated from Japanese, and this is officially the thing I’m most excited for. Finding Pokemon IS tons of fun!”

    I caught them all, you know. Or I would have, if their number hadn’t QUADRUPLED

    “Duane Swierczynski (I can spell that without looking it up, ‘natch) finishes up his first arch on Iron Fist, and I’m expecting great things. He’s been stellar since replacing the incredible Brubaker/Fraction team that reinvigorated the character. Duane’s made sure the character has staying power.”

    Believe it or not, I’m reading through the second Brubaker/Fraction Iron Fist story (The Seven Capital Cities of Heaven) now. I’ll let you know what I think. Maybe even in review form!

    I actually kind of want to get Jingle Belle. Especially since its writer, Paul Dini, wrote so many great episodes of the Batman Animated Series.

  2. spiffyithaca Says:

    It wouldn’t be a Goki post if there wasn’t unfulfilled promises of reviews! I’m hyped!

    Wow props to Paul Dini. Of course, I’d give him more props if he spent his time on BETTER ideas. But if you buy it, THAT is the review I want to see.

Leave a Reply

