Weekly Reviews for 11/26/08

by

batmanrip

It’s almost a full week since these comics actually meant something, but who gives a damn? These two were one of the best issues of the month, and includes the conclusion to the biggest storyline for the Dark Knight since “Hush”.

It seems silly to rank two comics, so I won’t, for the second week in a row. But one comic is certainly better, and I’ll start with the weakest (so I did rank it, ha!).

Captain America #44: Ed Brubaker, Luke Ross. “Time’s Arrow” Part 2 of 3 is much better than the first, and much of it has to do with the improvement of fill-in penciller Luke Ross, who emulates Steve Epting well (and who wouldn’t want to be like Steve?) here. The first arc after the end of “Death of Captain America” saga was sure to suffer some sort of letdown, but Brubaker is jumping into the Bucky era headfirst. His first adventure naturally goes back to not only his Bucky past, but connects to the Winter Soldier, and this pays off in some cool ways. Plus, Brubaker has succeeded where no one else has, EVER: he’s made Batroc the Leaper kinda cool. And more importantly: cool cliffhanger.

Batman #681: Grant Morrison, Tony Daniel. I hadn’t read Batman since Hush and the first issues of Azzarrello/Risso and none of Morrison’s run until RIP Part 1. I haven’t read the tie-ins (sorry DC, I will not reward your whore-ish ways). While maybe I’d appreciate the Robin subplot more if I had, I’ve been continually blown away by this storyline after the first couple of confusing issues. One thing I’ve absolutely adored since page 1 has been the startling revelation that Tony Daniel is a superstar stud on the art front, deserving of a blowjob from Scarlet Johannson for his work. Anyways, this month’s conclusion was a doozy: we get the satisfying final confrontation with the Black Glove, chilling/sweet moments with the Joker and some nice moments from Batman’s supporting cast all wrapped in a spiffy package by a fucking incredible Batman narration. Grant Morrison did this story justice. Does Batman die? Read the issue you ninny.

Fucktastic Writer of the Week: Grant Morrison. While Brubs was deserving, Morrison was on a different level.

Fucktastic Artist of the Week: Tony Daniel

5 Responses to “Weekly Reviews for 11/26/08”

  1. Gokitalo Says:

    Your description of Tony Daniel’s art is brilliant, even if I don’t 100 percent agree. Scarlet Johannson’s totally overrated, though.

    I didn’t like Batman R.I.P. as much as you did: it definitely had its moments (e.g. the cup scene), but it left too many things open. Tony Daniel’s art wasn’t always as clear as I’d like: we know what happens to the Joker, for example, but it’s not entirely clear how it happened. Plus, and this is hard to talk about without spoiling, the “R.I.P.” scene kind of felt like a rip-off.

    That said, I did see two preview pages of the next issue, which (a) got me hooked again big-time and (b) made me realize Grant Morrison’s taking this R.I.P. thing in a direction most people aren’t expecting. I didn’t look at all the preview pages (page 2 was a pretty awesome stopping point), but you can check it out yourself below:

    http://www.newsarama.com/php/multimedia/album.php?aid=24477

  2. spiffyithaca Says:

    I’ve been a fan of Scarlett before she was overhyped, but when it comes to BJ’s, I hear there’s nobody better.

    Well I was expecting it to end openly, because a flat out ending will never happen in a story for Batman called “RIP”.

    What happened to Joker was SPOILER WARNING: Damion hit his ambulance and ran him off the bridge. It was a kinda weird scene though, I’ll grant you that.

    I’m going to wait to read the issue rather than get a tease. I want to get my money’s worth, after all.

  3. Gokitalo Says:

    Gah, I don’t know how I missed that SPOILER WARNING AGAIN: it was Damian who hit the ambulance. I’ll have to check it again.

  4. Gokitalo Says:

    Ah, now I see it. Although I don’t think it’s drawn too clearly: it looks like the Joker’s ambulance is falling towards the Batmobile, instead of getting knocked out of the way by it.

    By the way, line of the issue:

    “You blinked. I switched the cups. Force of habit.”

  5. spiffyithaca Says:

    That and just the entire narration was brilliant

Leave a Reply

