Weekly Recommendations for 12/17/08

by

Spiffy and I are both pretty busy this week, so this one’s going to be quick. Let’s go!

DC Comics

Birds of Prey #125: I hear Tony Bedard basically built his story around the cover, as they did often in the old days at DC. Here’s the cover, which is drawn by the talented Frank Quitely:

http://www.comicartcommunity.com/gallery/details.php?image_id=30122

If you’ve been liking Bedard’s Birds of Prey, or if you just like seeing people recklessly drive cars through the streets of Venice, then this issue’s probably for you.

DCU Holiday Special 2008: these holiday anthologies are often hit-and-miss for me, but there’s usually one or two good things in there. Plus, the “super-secret origin of Santa Claus”? That’s hard to say no to.

Manhunter #37: Marc Andreyko is probably crying great, big, manly tears now that this series has been cancelled again, but you can probably ease his pain by buying this issue. It’s the start of a new storyline, which promises to hit Manhunter “closer to home than she expects!” Dun dun DUN

Supergirl #36: this may not be the most accessible issue, since it’s part 8 of the big “New Krypton” story going on in the Super-titles, but Sterling Gates has been doing a pretty good on this series. Check it out if you want a good story and don’t mind if things get a little confusing. Don’t check it out if you want to see if Kara’s skirt gets shorter this issue. She’s 17, ya perv!

Superman: Past and Future: featuring a whole bunch of classic Superman time travel stories. Keep in mind that some of these were written during the wonderfully wacky Silver Age of comics, so you might want to give them a little leeway in terms of dialogue and story logic. It’s 20 bucks, and I wouldn’t consider this a “must-buy,” but if you’re a Superman fan and have 20 bucks to spare in these troubled, economic times, give it a shot. Or give me the 20 bucks. You don’t need it!

Robin #181: hey kids, it’s Anarky! Remember him?

*sobs* I’m so alone.

Marvel Comics

Amazing Spider-Man #581: as I’ve said before, “One More Day” kind of killed my interest in Amazing Spider-Man (although Joe Kelly and Mark Waid almost made me change my mind). Still, if you’ve been wondering how Harry Osborn is alive again, apparently this issue will answer that and more.

Avengers: The Initiative #19: this is it! The final assault in the Secret Invasion! Hold onto your– wait. Didn’t Secret Invasion end two weeks ago?

Dark Reign: New Nation #1: apparently this is going to lead into all the “Dark Reign” stuff coming up these next few months, like War Machine, Secret Warriors, Agents of Atlas, War Machine, Hawkeye & Mockingbird and of course, Skrull Kill Krew. Pretty much everyone writing upcoming titles (Bendis, Hickman, Pak) is writing a story for this issue, so if you want in on the “Dark Reign” train, this may be the perfect place to hop onboard.

Invincible Iron Man #8: next to Dark Reign: New Nation, this is one of Marvel’s biggest releases this week. The events of Secret Invasion have turned Tony Stark, Marvel’s BMOC, from head of S.H.I.E.L.D. to a man on the run. He’s lost his power (in more ways than one) and his heroic reputation’s been sullied, so don’t expect things to be easy for good ol’ Iron Man. I’m buying this, and you should too!

Mighty Avengers #20: worth noting because it’s Brian Michael Bendis’ last issue of the series. So if you were a fan (I wasn’t, sadly), you’ll probably want to get it. Me? I’ll wait ’til Slott gets onboard.

Moon Knight #25: Spiffy likes this title, so this is in here for him. Plus, Moon Knight vs. Bullseye sounds awesome in theory.

Punisher War Zone #2: I haven’t read Punisher War Zone #1 yet, but Garth Ennis and Steve Dillon have done some great work with Frank Castle in the past. Plus I hear the villain is a mob boss with no arms and limbs. So go buy issue 1 and if you like it, buy issue 2!

Spider-Man: Noir #1: Spider-Man as you’ve never seen him before!

http://www.marvel.com/comics/onsale/lib/view2.htm?filename=/comics/onsale/covers/1208/SMNOIR001_cvr.jpg

Seriously, I don’t think he’s ever worn a costume like that. Anyway, Marvel continues reimagining its heroes in a post-Depression, noir setting, so this is bound to be a unique take on the Spidey mythos. Might be worth a look.

The Age of the Sentry #4: featuring the British music invasion!

Thunderbolts #127: I’m not sure if this is a Dark Reign issue or not, but I’ve heard good things about Andy Diggle’s work on this series anyawy.

What If? Newer Fantastic Four #1: way back when, the original Fantastic Four was incapacitated or something, so Wolverine, Hulk, Spider-Man and Ghost Rider took over briefly. Not surprisingly, they were really popular. So it shouldn’t be too surprising either that they’re back in their own What If? story, with Iron Man taking the place of the now not-as-popular Rider. They’re going to fight a guy with the Infinity Gauntlet, so this could be a fun read.

X-Factor #38: it’s X-Factor. Buy it.

X-Men: Legacy #219: I know that OTHER X-Men series is out, but I can’t bring myself about the third Summers brother. On the other hand, I saw preview pages for this issue of X-Men Legacy, featuring Xavier and the Juggernaut, and it looks GREAT. If you didn’t like Juggernaut as a good guy, you won’t be disappointed. If you did (like me), you’ll at least see it addressed. Even though I did like Juggernaut’s turn to heroism, I think he works better as a villain, anyway.

Dark Horse

Beanworld Holiday Special One-Shot: this comic is about a race of tiny beans. This is really the only comic you need to buy this week.

It’s actually pretty good, apparently. Read all about it here.

Indies

Greatest American Hero #1: “Believe it or not, Iiiii’m walking on air…”

Alternately:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-QJnE-uiJvo

That took longer than I thought, but there you have it. Now go out there and buy comics!

3 Responses to “Weekly Recommendations for 12/17/08”

  1. spiffyithaca Says:

    You’ve been whoring out Birds of Prey pretty nicely Goki. I hadn’t a care in the world that I was missing it, but now I feel sorta bad.

    Did you get the Holiday special?

    I ended up getting Dark Reign New Nation and Iron Man, despite not planning on it. I should’ve probably saved my money on New Nation, but Iron Man looks to be intriguing.

    And Goki, you should get Mighty Avengers #20, just for who it was written for.

    I had no intention of getting Spider-Man Noir, but bought it on a whim. My thoughts on it will come very soon.

    This was a big week for me. I got Legacy as well, which aside from the bullshit Wolverine son crossover, has consistently been the best X-title on the market.

    And Beanworld sounds awesome. Well done Goki!

  2. gokitalo Says:

    I actually DIDN’T get the holiday special! Legacy’s still on my list. I saw some preview pages for Mighty Avengers #20 and found myself liking most of them, I’m happy to say.

    Thunderbolts, Invincible Iron Man and X-Factor are definitely on my to-buy list. We’ll see about Supergirl, Manhunter and Birds of Prey. BoP probably isn’t as good as it was when Gail Simone and Chuck Dixon were writing it, but I did like the Joker/Oracle confrontation last ish and I kind of want to see how Bedard pulls off the “make a story around this cover!” gimmick.

    I would have completely forgotten about Beanworld and Greatest American Hero if I hadn’t posted this up. Thank you, Weekly Recommendations!

  3. spiffyithaca Says:

    I didn’t realize you responded, so sorry. I just want to reiterate that you should definitely get Mighty Avengers Goki.

    As far as everything else, my Dark Reign post had the reviews, so you know what I think of the one’s on your buy list.

    Let me know how the BOP gimmick works out. It’s an interesting writing exercise, for sure.

    BUY BEANWORLD, EVERYONE

Leave a Reply

