Brief introduction!

by

Hello readers. I’m Rob, the newest blogger here on GGG, and I’ve never blogged before. That’s the truth. So, fear for your mind as you read my friendly introduction. I learned this from Jeff, folks! Blame him.

When I was ten years old I was introduced to the world of Marvel Comics, the X-Men specifically. A girl in my fourth grade class gave me a Rogue trading card and a Captain Britain trading card. I remember thinking that Britain looked like some sort of Batman in an armoured suit (there were several strange Batman action figures in circulation at the time), and I couldn’t figure out why they had changed his name. Rogue was just… Well, why’d she have a white spot of hair? My little grade-school friend has no idea what those TWO trading cards would do to my life. Comics are an expensive addiction!

My father owned a bakery at the time, which was located in a shopping plaza two doors away from a comic book/sports card specialty store. The shop owner also had a young son of my age. We struck a deal. When I couldn’t scrape together the $2.00 to buy a pack of cards we’d trade candy bars for trading cards. I realize that we were both stealing from our fathers, but that is the flawed logic of a child. It was an equal trade, nothing lost and nothing gained. I slowly collected the entire set, and eagerly read the characters biographies on the back of each. Over and over. Practically memorized them.

“So is this from a cartoon or something?” I asked my friend, idly, as I sorted through a new pack. “I’ve never seen it.” He led me from the trading card half of the store into another portion of the store I’d never bothered to enter. “You’ve never seen the comics?” Before my eyes, laid across so many horizontal shelves, was… the future.

And that is how my 16 year (and running) love of serialized graphic entertainment began. It has definitely waxed and waned at times, but as we speak it is slowly waxing…

So what I hope to contribute to this blog, is a look back at the era of comics I grew up with, the late 80s to the early 2000s.

I’ll also be trying to keep you up with as many comics related animated series as I can! We’ve got Batman: The Brave and the Bold airing on Cartoon Network in the USA at 8:00PM Eastern, and Wolverine and the X-Men which launches in the USA on January 23rd on Nicktoons Network.

So hopefully you’ll get to read from me on a regular basis!

7 Responses to “Brief introduction!”

  1. dillonmania Says:

    In Canada we’ve already seen about 12 episodes of the Wolverine/X-Men toon…it’s pretty good, although too much Wolverine for my tastes.

    I’ve only seen one episode of the Batman toon, but enjoyed it.

  2. hypergraffic Says:

    I’ve actually seen the WatX episodes as well (thank youuu torrents). While I’m not the biggest Wolverine fan (nor a big detractor, come to think about it), I think the concept is fresh enough to offer an interesting take on him in a role that comics readers or former animated series viewers have never really seen him in. I also think they’ve struck a pretty good balance between Wolverine and the rest of the team. Unfortunately in any X-Men venue you HAVE to do the requisite Wolverine origin stories. In the meanwhile they’ve done a good job of fleshing out the characters.

    Can you tell I pretty much love the series?

  3. gokitalo Says:

    Great stuff, Roberto! I’m giving this a “profile” tag. I don’t think we’ve covered comic animation at all, so this will be a welcome addition to our examination of awesome things.

    Brag, brag, brag, Lia! Go post something!

  4. hypergraffic Says:

    I also wanted to make sure I posted something first so I didn’t look lazy πŸ˜€

  5. spiffyithaca Says:

    Welcome to GGG Rob! It’s been awhile since last we chatted, but I’m glad to have you onboard, and I’ll definitely IM you next time I have some time.

    I kinda feel like my introduction was lame in comparison to the last couple. Entertainment Weekly would be proud of your work here Rob.

    I had no idea about either cartoon, but I may have to check them out, especially Wolverine and the X-Men.

  6. dillonmania Says:

    Lulz, I don’t know what to post yet πŸ˜‰

  7. dillonmania Says:

    I should add that Teletoon will begin airing Wolverine and the X-Men on January 11. So any Canadian who hasn’t caught it yet has a chance to start watching from the beginning. I’m still pissed YTV had to cut it off at the end of November — we won’t see any new episodes until what, March or April?

Leave a Reply

