DC Movies “On Hold”?

by

(Note: I’m taking some of this from a message board post I just did because I’m low on stamina. Never expected me to say THAT, did you?)

I don’t know if this includes Watchmen or not (which is already dealing with issues of its own), but according to David Goyer, who co-wrote The Dark Knight, Warner Bros has put DC Comics movies “on hold” so they can come up with a new, overall plan. Similarly, the Captain Marvel movie, which was slated to feature Dwayne “The Rock” Johnson as Black Adam, is no longer in production.

I’m not sure whether to be worried or not. I mean, maybe Warner Bros. realized their earlier statements about making all their future superhero movies “dark and edgy” was a bad move. Or maybe they’ll decide to go even FURTHER in that direction, which would frankly be a stupid idea. I mean, Superman Returns WAS “dark and edgy” (despite Luthor’s slapstickiness) and Captain Marvel isn’t a dark character in the slightest.

But like I said, maybe more rethinking is exactly what Warner Bros needs to do at this point. For one, The Rock never struck me as a good fit for Black Adam, or at least the version of Black Adam currently seen in the comics. Moreover, one of David Goyer’s film projects, “Super MAX,” sounds like it could use some rethinking. Here’s the premise: Green Arrow gets arrested and ends up in a maximum security center for super-villains. It COULD be a good film, but it sounds like a terrible way to introduce Green Arrow to a movie-going audience. Might make a good SEQUEL to a Green Arrow film, however…

Anyway, I hope Warner Bros. come up with a good strategy. Until then, however, it looks like Marvel’s going to dominate the comic book movie field, with “Thor,” “Iron Man 2,” “Captain America,” “Ant Man” and “Avengers” coming up. I’m not trying to pan Marvel here: I’m looking forward to all of those movies and hope they FUDO the pants off of me. The thing is, unless Warner Bros. gets its act together soon, Marvel’s going to gain an even stronger foothold in the mainstream popular consciousness, especially if the upcoming movies are good. DC and Warner may have an uphill battle ahead of them…

5 Responses to “DC Movies “On Hold”?”

  1. spiffyithaca Says:

    DC is practically bending over right now. If Marvel markets “Captain America” effectively and Obama’s term gets off to a good start, it could be a HUGE financial boon to Marvel, especially with Avengers coming next.

    However, I don’t think this is a bad move for DC. It’s good to formulate a strategy and not rush into things (like Marvel is doing with Iron Man 2, and look how it’s already backfiring). Especially if The Rock is Black Adam. I think the Rock could definitely work as a superhero, but I’m not sure Black Adam is it. Of course, I’m not sure how good an idea a Captain Marvel movie is anyways.

    As far as Watchman, delaying that IS a bad move. It’s been marketed rather heavily, and you don’t want the lawsuit and delay problems to overshadow the actual content itself. This movie should be DC/Time Warner’s most important save the JLA and obviously the Batman franchise.

    And actually, I bet Batman did a fair job against both Iron Man and Hulk this year, so I don’t know how far behind DC really is. If they can stop fucking around with JLA, these delays, and lawsuits with Watchmen, they can close the gap really fast. After all, Marvel hasn’t made a movie that could even sniff an Oscar for best picture (although Iron Man, likely will land in my top ten films for 2008, coming to GGG by February 1st).

  2. gokitalo Says:

    Top Ten Films of 2008? RAD

    A friend of mine pointed out that money could be also have been a factor in the decision, as the current economic crisis has made Time Warner and Warner Bros. lose a lot of money. Makes sense they’d want to take a break until some more money’s rolled in: after all, superhero films aren’t cheap to make.

    Apparently, Fox and Warner Bros have since had settlement talks and have made concessions, regarding Watchmen:
    http://robot6.comicbookresources.com/2009/01/settlement-likely-in-bitter-watchmen-dispute/

    I think the JLA movie has been dropped for now. Or at least George Miller isn’t involved in it any more.

  3. spiffyithaca Says:

    By the way, I can’t believe I forgot to respond to it in my first post: BUT WHAT is that weird ass idea for Green Arrow?! David Goyer does rule, but “Super MAX” for Oliver Queen? The guy was a dick before he donned the green, but not a criminal, and if they want him to become GA in prison, that’d ruin his origin.

    Give me Green Arrow first bastards!

  4. gokitalo Says:

    I think he gets framed or something. Still, I agree with everything you said.

  5. gokitalo Says:

    Oh, here’s something interesting: apparently Warner Bros’ decision to put DC Movies “on hold” may not apply for the Green Lantern movie Marc Guggenheim’s working on…

    http://www.newsarama.com/tv/010913-Guggenheim-Stone.html

Leave a Reply

