Another introduction

by

Since new guy Rob made his introduction already, I suppose it’s time to do mine.  I’m a bit different from the other guys on this blog, in that I am a woman in my (early) thirties.  Also, though I occasionally read comics in my youth (Archie, Ninja Turtles, X-Men, Swamp Thing…even an over-sized comic adaptation of the original Battlestar Galactica, which I still own), I didn’t really get into them until university. 

 

My roommate watched the FOX X-Men cartoon, and I got hooked, feeling compelled to research and find out more about these characters on the Internet and in the comics.  I became a devoted fan of Mystique and the Brotherhood of Evil Mutants/Freedom Force, collecting all their back issues and dedicating a website to them (which still exists today, in all its late-`90s style glory).

 

Years went by, and as Marvel killed off, depowered, or sent them into limbo, I became a bitter, bitter fangirl — and believe me, there is nothing more vengeful than an angry fangirl.  I’d never been interested in DC before, but slowly got into it through an obsessive love of the Flash Rogues.  I still love my Marvel favourites, but concentrate most of my fannish energy on the Rogues and DC these days. 

 

So that’s where I am now; I run a Rogues fan community, am the forum administrator at a comics website, and occasionally update my old Freedom Force site.  Yes, I’m a nerd.  But being a nerd is awesome, so why not embrace it? 

7 Responses to “Another introduction”

  1. gokitalo Says:

    Speaking of which, here are both of her sites!
    http://community.livejournal.com/flash_rogues
    http://tatooine.fortunecity.com/bear/353/ffintro.html

    In fact, we could post links to them on the right-hand side of the site. What say you, Lia?

    The X-Men cartoon was all kinds of rad. Sure, some of the voices for the lesser-known characters weren’t always the best, but the voices for the X-Men, Magneto, Juggernaut and Apocalypse were spot on.

  2. spiffyithaca Says:

    I guess this means we can’t make Canadian jokes anymore (although I don’t think we made one, what’s that eh-bout?). Welcome Lia!

    Also, who’s your favoritest Rogue?

  3. hypergraffic Says:

    Wait wait wait… LIA IS A GIRL?!

    And Goki! No links to Ultimate X?! For goodness sake.

  4. dillonmania Says:

    Sure, Goki, linking would be groovy. I didn’t know you knew about the Rogues comm URL.

    Since the voice actors for the 90s toon were Canadian (and often reasonably well-known), it’s kind of funny when they pop up in the oddest places in Canuck TV and radio. The people who voiced Xavier and Moira also played a married couple on a well-known Canadian show. I totally freaked when I discovered the dude who voiced Avalanche also did my favourite character on this one show from my childhood.

    Spiff, you can make all the Canadian jokes you like! My fave Rogue is the Top, because I’m weird like that.

    Rob, it’s true…and I have cooties.

  5. hypergraffic Says:

    Wow, Moira and Xavier as characters in a real life tv show!

  6. gokitalo Says:

    Oh right, Ultimate X! Totally forgot about– I mean, NO, I DIDN’T FORGET AT ALL I WAS JUST TESTING YOU HAHAHA CONGRATS YOU PASSED ROB

    (I think he fell for it!)

  7. dillonmania Says:

    Ah, Ultimate Marvel — what was up with making Ultimate Pyro a rapist, huh? And now he has no hands.

Leave a Reply

