Weekly Recommendations for 1/28/09

by

According to Goki’s mom, this is the best regular feature on this here blog. So what does that mean? Fuckin’ read it, that’s what! What follows are the most intriguing and eclectic titles in all comicdom coming out tomorrow.

DC Comics

Final Crisis #7 (of 7): It’s finally here. The final chapter in DC’s biggest storyline since, well, the original Crisis. I don’t know or understand half of what’s going on, but even I know huge fucking things went down in #6, and it’s great to see DC put this one out so fast after it. This is probably the pick up of the week, but who am I to say that?

Marvel

Captain America #46: Bucky (I find it weird calling him Captain America even if I love this book) goes to China to learn more about his past and the present, with the Man With No Face and Batroc the Leaper involved. And, apparently NAMOR comes back into his life. Sounds like the recipe for goodness to me.

Fantastic Four #563: It’s hard to say which is Millar’s best title (Wolverine, War Heroes and Kick-Ass all have myriads of fans), but this may be my vote. While Thing has a fiance, I’m far more intrigued with the ending of last week’s funeral issue for the Invisible Woman. Basically, Doom admits to having a “Master” who is on the wrecking path, which could potentially ruin who is my favorite villain of all time (since when does Doom admit to being inferior to anyone?), or hopefully, Millar spins it into greatness. I hold out hope.

Marvel 1985 HC: Speaking of Millar, this was arguably the best mini series of 2008 (Vaughan’s Logan and many others are in contention). Coupled with Tommy Lee Edwards, a brilliant artist, this is some great stuff, even if it teeters on at the end.

The Rest

Adventures of Charlz from Mars Book 1 Going Home: I think it’s safe to say that the name “Charles” is safe for awhile.

Buckaroo Banzai Big Size: You know what, old Spiffy would make an inference that this comic is about a giant penis, but instead, I’ll point out that this alliterative $5 mag sounds like a bundle of bouncing balls brimming with buoyant bombastic brilliance.

Glamourpuss #5: Clearly this isn’t something men want, because there’s a Zombie variant cover. A never dying pussy sounds faintly arousing at first….but that’s how it gets you.

Knuckles #6: This is either about the sharp and ugly cries uttered by the knuckles on our fingers when cracked that are inaudible to all but grasshoppers or that red Sonic sidekick guy I always liked

And…that’s all I got.

I’m buying Final Crisis, Captain America, FF, New Avengers and perhaps Ender’s Shadow. See ya next week!

3 Responses to “Weekly Recommendations for 1/28/09”

  1. hypergraffic Says:

    You must tell me everything about Final Crisis.

  2. Gokitalo Says:

    My mom has good taste.

    Marvel 1985 HC: Speaking of Millar, this was arguably the best mini series of 2008 (Vaughan’s Logan and many others are in contention). Coupled with Tommy Lee Edwards, a brilliant artist, this is some great stuff, even if it teeters on at the end.

    Maybe I should have waited for the hardcover to come out. I forgot to get issue #6 and now I can’t find it…

    You must tell me everything about Final Crisis.

    I just might do that in a future post (or at least review issue 7), but honestly? Just get Final Crisis: Rogues Revenge. Best thing to come out of Final Crisis by FAR. It’s also pretty accessible.

    Spiff, I was going to do a Weekly Spotlight for FC #7, but didn’t get around to it!

  3. spiffyithaca Says:

    Yeah she does!

    No worries about the Spotlight. It happens (quite frequently for us). Just feel free to do it any week you have time or something you want to talk about.

    Good luck with 1985…I’m sure you can find it to buy/read online or something.

Leave a Reply

