Weekly Recommendations for 2/4/09

by

It’s already the second month of the New Year. Christ. As it is a Wednesday, that brings with it a load of comics. Yay! The funny wasn’t coming tonight, but enjoy it after the beep.

DC Comics

Bang Tango #1 (of 6): Instead of going the easy route by starting with the “three to tango” line, I’ll just say that this sounds like the greatest dance on Earth.

Secret Six #6: My first foray into the Origins & Omens February event, and I’m assuming it’ll be a good one, as Gail Simone has made this the best DC title after Green Lantern (it only took 3 issues of GL to do that). If you like ridiculous yet scary villains, snappy dialogue and creepy he-she’s, this is your title.

Marvel

Black Panther 2 #1: Who’s the newest Black Panther? If it’s not T’Challa, who cares?

Franklin Richards Dark Reigning Cats & Dogs: Worst play on words. Ever.

Immortal Iron Fist #22: BUY THIS BOOK NOW.

Secret Warriors #1: Written by Bendis with art by one of Marvel’s so called “Young Guns” Stefano Caselli (Initiative), this is a book about Nick Fury and his secret band of merrymen and women who helped defeat the skrulls in SI. I’m not crazy about Caselli’s manga-ish art, but I love Fury and have to at least try everything Dark Reign, apparently.

Indies

Big Skinny How I Changed My Fattitude: Sooner or later, you know dieting would hit comicdom. If only it wasn’t so lame.

Comic Book Comics #3: You know, I’ve always wondered why my comics weren’t comicbooks.

In the Flesh GN: It’s not mature rated, so I don’t care.

Jesus Hates Zombies: And so should you! But really, zombies get a bad rap. They’re only hungry, and you just look soooo tasty.

Tiger in a Pink Hat: I love tigers in pink hats. They wear them, big and flat. This is to hide their big shats. I love tigers in pink hats. (this is what I’d write if I was high for this post)

Yeah, I just didn’t have it today guys. But I did buy Iron Fist, Iron Man, Secret Six, Cable, Secret Warriors and X-Men Noir.

2 Responses to “Weekly Recommendations for 2/4/09”

  1. gokitalo Says:

    Bang Tango reminds me of the “Tango de la Muerte” episode of the Simpsons:

    “You are now carrying my child.”
    “But how?”
    “Is it the mystery of the dance!”

    Franklin Richards Dark Reigning Cats & Dogs: Worst play on words. Ever.

    Puh-lease. I’ve seen much more groan-inducing puns than that. Even I can do better. Or worse. Whatever.

    Secret Warriors #1: Written by Bendis with art by one of Marvel’s so called “Young Guns” Stefano Caselli (Initiative), this is a book about Nick Fury and his secret band of merrymen and women who helped defeat the skrulls in SI.

    And they’re all children of supervillains. Guess we now know what the bad guys do in their spare time: each other.

    Big Skinny How I Changed My Fattitude

    I like this pun better. Hehehe. “Fattitude.” It’s just fun to say out loud.

    In the Flesh GN: It’s not mature rated, so I don’t care.

    We have a winner!

    This is a pretty big week for DC. There’s Secret Six (of course), Black Lightning: Year One #3, Legion of Three Worlds #3, Supergirl: Cosmic Adventures in the Eighth Grade #3 (okay fine, I just put that in there so I could have a hat trick of #3s) and Adventure Comics #0 (worth getting just to see how hilariously mean the Legion of Super-Heroes were when they debuted). The Mighty #1 looks intriguing (PDF preview here) and I’ll probably get El Diablo when it comes out in trade. At Image, there’s stuff coming out by two of the Man of Action guys (and former X-Men writers), Joe Kelly and Steve Seagle. And I’m the only one who remotely cares.

    Over at Marvel, there’s our spotlighted title, Mini-Marvels: Secret Invasion Digest, Mighty Avengers #21 (Dan Slott’s debut!) and some cool trades: Avengers: Knights of Wundagore and a reprinting of The Truth mini-series from a couple of years back.

  2. spiffyithaca Says:

    Mighty #1 looked intriguing, but I was able to say no. Did you end up buying it?

    And Mighty Avengers came out last week, this week is the “corrected version”. What the fuck does that mean?

Leave a Reply

