NY Con highlights Day 2, part 1

by

The other one was getting too long anyway. So let’s have a look…

Ultimate Spider-Man’s getting cancelled- WUUUUUUUUUT

Oh wait, it’s being replaced with…

Ultimate Comics Spider-Man and Ultimate Comics Avengers- yes, “comics” is part of their titles. Bendis says some time will have passed between Ultimate Spider-Man and UC Spider-Man, there’ll be new characters and “maybe a new guy in the costume.” Cap, Black Panther and now Spider-Man… I’m starting to notice a replacement trend here. Immonen won’t be joining him, however: a guy named David LaFuente is. Anyone whose last name is “the source” in Spanish can’t be all that bad.

Ultimate Comics Avengers Millar’s coming back, as we’ve mentioned before, and Carlos Pacheco is going to be one of the artists. Lienel Yu is going to be another I’m already FUDOing from the antici….. PATION.

UPDATE: Millar interview here, in which he reveals a pretty huge twist for his opening Ultimate Comics Avengers story. Also, there’s a Pacheco-drawn picture of Ultimate Cap driving a motorcycle through a window. Hardcore.

But before these comics come out, we’re getting…

Ultimate Requiems- which I guess are one-shots that close the current Ultimate titles. Worth noting just because Mark Bagley is drawing part of the Ultimate Spider-Man one.

Peter David’s writing a Halo comic- Halo’s overrated, but Peter David is awesome.

A new Alias mini is coming- by Bendis and Michael Gaydos, of course. Now they just need to put the Alias Omnibus back in print…

Daredevil: End of Days is still coming- a.k.a. Brian Bendis, Alex Maleev and Klaus Janson’s “Daredevil: The End” story. All three of these guys have done incredible work with ol’ Hornhead (why yes, that IS a nickname for my–) and I can’t wait for this to come out.

Ultimate She-Hulk’s hair will be green- What? I have PROOF! Oh, and I guess this means Ultimate Wolverine vs. Hulk will be done soon.

I got all that info from here, by the way.

Spider-Woman is getting print AND digital comics- both by Bendis. You can get the digital ones on iTunes. It’s a “motion” comic, meaning there’ll be voice actors! Oh, and the characters will sometimes “move.” That’s only the start of Marvel’s online stuff

Sleeper’s getting an omnibus-style collection- For those not in the know, Sleeper is Ed Brubaker and Sean Phillips’ superhero-spy noir series, which got massive loads… of critical acclaim, that is. Sleeper‘s prequel, Point Plank, is also getting reprinted (it’s good), so this is the perfect time to buy the Sleeper saga if you haven’t. Me? I still haven’t gotten around to reading my Sleeper vol. 1 yet.

Astro City: The Dark Age Volume 3 is coming- Volume 3 out of four, to be precise. I’m trade-waitin’.

Grant Morrison and Jim Lee’s Wildcats will continue at some point in time, who knows when- YES

10 Responses to “NY Con highlights Day 2, part 1”

  1. dillonmania Says:

    Today’s news was pretty meh, as far as I’m concerned.

    I laughed at Quesada blowing off the question about Ultimate Pyro, because the whole situation was a clusterfuck.

  2. gokitalo Says:

    Hahahahahahahaha, “that’s a Jeph Loeb question.” Seriously Lia, Freedom Force has NOT had it well these past few years. Except Mystique, I guess?

    More on Ultimate Comics Spider-Man below, dear readers:
    http://www.comicbookresources.com/?page=article&id=19904

  3. dillonmania Says:

    Not Mystique either. She went from a somewhat ambiguous villain/anti-hero character to a cackling evil madwoman. But yes, at least she’s alive, powered, and showing up semi-regularly. Avalanche is alive and powered but he’s just showed up once (a few weeks ago) in several years.

  4. gokitalo Says:

    Oh right, Avalanche was in a Frank Tieri story or something. How was that? Also, what’d you think of Carey’s Mystique? I read some of the issues where she was on the team, but it feels like so long ago now…

  5. dillonmania Says:

    The Avalanche story was very short, and it was pretty good. At least if you don’t mind the X-Men acting like complete dicks, which I don’t. He’s started his own bar and is minding his own business, when the X-Men show up and start wrecking the place and threatening him.

    I like Carey’s Mystique, except I think the idea of her truly loving Iceman is pretty ludicrous. I mean, it’s freakin’ Iceman.

  6. hypergraffic Says:

    *cough* LaFuente means the fountain. 😛

    So where’s um… Ultimate Comics X-Men? Or did I miss that?

  7. dillonmania Says:

    Goki you are the worst Venezuelan ever! 😛 😉

    Looks like there is no more Ultimate X-Men, at least for now.

  8. spiffyithaca Says:

    I hate how they’re rebooting the Ultimates titles, seems pretty petty and whorish to me. Of course, I’ll probably buy them both (at the very least the Avengers one, because it’s Millar and Hitch, duh), so I should probably just shut up.

    The new Alias mini is AWESOME (Michael Gaydos is a serious fucking talent), and you’re right Goki, Marvel had no business putting it out of print. That’s simply retarded.

    And Goki, before I forget, awesome coverage my man

  9. hypergraffic Says:

    I am a PROUD owner of the Alias Omnibus, AND every fucking issue of the series. I love that book. I can’t believe I missed that news earlier!

  10. gokitalo Says:

    Hahahaha, Lia’s Iceman comment for the win. Much as I like him, Mystique + Iceman = no way.

    Goki you are the worst Venezuelan ever!

    Of course I am! I’m not even Venezuelan! Also, “fuente” can mean “source” OR “fountain.” It can also mean “serving tray,” a.k.a. “bandeja.”

    Now that I’ve schooled you all in Spanish, I’d have to say that yeah, looks like the Ultimate X-Men are getting a breather. Which may be a good thing: I heard the book hasn’t been so good lately. Maybe it needs a rethink, or some love and care from Millar after he’s done with Ultimate Comics Avengers.

    (at the very least the Avengers one, because it’s Millar and Hitch, duh)

    No Hitch, I’m sad to say! Still, Lienel Francis Yu and Carlos Pacheco are no slouches. Yu’s work on Superman: Birthright was incredible, for example.

    And Goki, before I forget, awesome coverage my man

    Thanks, Spiffy-O! I mean, when you’re faced with “blog” and “responsibilities,” obviously “blog” gets top priority.

    … I’m retiring that philosophy as of yesterday morning.

    Rob man, you gotta sell one of us your Alias Omnibus or the single issues for outrageously low prices. We need it for, er, blog collateral…

Leave a Reply

