Weekly Recommendations for 2/25/2009

by

Uh wow, time sure flew. Anyway, let’s do this:

 Marvel

Avengers: The Initiative #22- I have a friend who loves the classic New Warriors team, so I’m sure he’ll be happy to hear they’re coming back as “Counter-Force” to beat on Ragnarok, a.k.a. the Thor-clone from Civil War. If you’re like my friend, you’ll buy this issue. If you’re like me, well… er…

 Captain America #47- Brubaker. Cap. Read it. I will. Someday.

Fantastic Four #564- Just in time for the holidays, it’s the Fantastic Four Christmas issue!

Waaaaaait…

Hulk #10- I hear this series is terrible, but I have a fondness for old-school Defenders.

Incredible Hercules #126- this issue is double-sized and costs a dollar more than usual. Still, it’s supposed to be a jumping-on point for new readers for what’s supposed to be a hilarious series. While you’re not supposed to buy it, why not spend a mere extra dollar and see what all the fuss is about? I know I will [if I remember] and I know how easily you’re affected by peer pressure, peer pressure, peer pressure…

New Avengers #50- love it or hate it, Brian Bendis’ New Avengers has been an enormous success. I wasn’t really a fan, but I will be getting issue 50. Why? Two words: Dark Reign. Two more words: Dark Avengers. Twenty-eight more words: The New Avengers are going to fight the Dark Avengers and Bendis’ recent work has started to win me over again, so I’ll probably check it out. Booyah!

Also? Bendis says there’s a bunch of artists working on this issue, including Bryan Hitch. So there’s that.

Thunderbolts #129- Norman Osborn vs. President Barack Obama. Buy fifty copies.

DC

Blue Beetle #37- this is just a month of endings for DC, isn’t it? Nightwing, Birds of Prey, Robin and now Blue Beetle. I only picked up the first issue and wasn’t entirely sure what to make of it, but apparently it turned into one of those great series… that not enough people were reading. A shame, since I’ve heard such wonderful things about it: a strong supporting cast, hilarious lines, great storytelling, many JLI references (despite Ted Kord not being Beetle)and a main character intriguing enough to live up to the Blue Beetle name.  I may be too late to save Beetle’s ongoing, but I’m definitely picking up the trades. So should you. [peer pressure, peer pressure, peer pressure]

Green Lantern #38- “Rage of the Red Lanterns” concludes this issue and paves the way for the upcoming Orange Lanterns story. But first, I want to see how Geoff Johns handles the cliffhanger of issue #37! Honestly, the man writes some of the best cliffhangers in comics. If you’re not reading Green Lantern, you’re missing out on one of DC’s best ongoings. You may want to wait until the new storyline begins next month, but when it does, hop onboard. You’ll be glad you did.

Justice Society of America #24- Black Adam and [SPOILER SPACE] Isis [/SPOILER SPACE] are back and want to punch you in the face. Ah, love…

The Starman Omnibus Vol. 2- DC’s best ongoing of the 1990s continues to be collected for a second time, in its entirety. So if you got miffed when you found the original Starman trades left out a bunch of issues, DC wants to make it all better. This collection includes “Sands and Stars,” the Sandman/Starman team-up that sold me on this title.

Image

Youngblood #8- Obama is on the cover. Buy fifty copies.

Savage Dragon #137 fourth printing- Obama is on the cover. Buy fifty copies.

Savage Dragon #145- Obama is on the cover… punching Osama Bin Laden in the face. Buy the store.

Indies

Alan Moore the Courtyard GN (in color)- Alan Moore! Alan Moore! Standing in the corner of the stooore…

Dave McKean’s Squink and Postcard from Paris- two things out by Dave McKean this week? If Rob loves McKean as much as he loves Gaiman, bring a towel. Or an umbrella.

Leonard Da Vinci Board Game- if they based it on Da Vinci’s Vitruvian Man (NSWF), Spiffy will finally have what he’s always dreamed of: a board game with a penis.

Sonic Universe #1- less comix, moar good gamez plz

That’s it for this week!

One Response to “Weekly Recommendations for 2/25/2009”

  1. spiffyithaca Says:

    I kinda wish I had bought the Hercules issue, I had no idea it was a jumping on point. But then again, that’d be counter productive in my effort to cut down on my comics reading.

    I’m very pumped for New Avengers #50 and the new T-Bolts.

    And Obama is the most loved president in comicbook history!

Leave a Reply

