I can’t believe it

by

Ugh, what terrible news. Apparently scans_daily, that lovely site of comic book scans, has been shut down. Thankfully they’ve got a backup site running, Daily Scans and are looking into recovering their old entries. Also, one member made a backup of the site, as you’ll see when you click on the first link.

What a bummer, though. Scans_daily had rules to avoid mitigate copyright issues (e.g. no one could post more than half a comic per post) and were going to introduce even stricter rules just before LiveJournal pulled the plug. Plus it got me interested in a whole ton of comic series I wouldn’t have checked out otherwise. Not to mention some of the posters could be really, really funny.

4 Responses to “I can’t believe it”

  1. Lia Says:

    I am into DC and a fan of the Rogues PURELY because of S_D. Prior to S_D, the only DC I was interested in was Suicide Squad, and that was only due to its similarity to Freedom Force. But I got interested in other parts of the DC universe, enjoyed a bit of Vertigo and explored that further, and fell in love with the Rogues purely because of scans I saw at S_D. It was definitely a mistake to shut it down.

  2. Lia Says:

    I should also add that the shutdown has had a chilling effect on my Rogues comm at LJ — we’ve locked all the posts with scans for fear that we’ll get in trouble too. This is a shame because I liked linking to them outside the comm so other people could see them too (and a major Flash blog linked to one of my scan posts). Now only comm members can see them.

  3. Glen Says:

    In the middle searching old friends, found your website.Just passing by.By the way, your website have great content! 🙂

    _______________________________
    Don’t pay for your electricity any longer…
    Instead, the power company will pay YOU!

  4. Gokitalo Says:

    I am into DC and a fan of the Rogues PURELY because of S_D. Prior to S_D, the only DC I was interested in was Suicide Squad, and that was only due to its similarity to Freedom Force. But I got interested in other parts of the DC universe, enjoyed a bit of Vertigo and explored that further, and fell in love with the Rogues purely because of scans I saw at S_D. It was definitely a mistake to shut it down.

    Exactly! I wouldn’t have gotten interested in Impulse, Young Justice and the new Blue Beetle series if it wasn’t for scans_daily.

    EDIT: oh, and the Superdictionary! Who can forget the marvelous Superdictionary?

Leave a Reply

