Bits and pieces

by

Traveling this week (and I still haven’t seen Watchmen), so I thought I might leave you guys some interesting news tidbits (with commentary):

Battlestar Galactica visits the United Nations. Seriously. With real UN delegates! Also, real-life astronaut Garret Reisman might appear in the finale. Talk about fiction meeting reality…

DC’s confirmed its next weekly series: Wednesday Comics. It’ll only be 12 parts this time, with 16 pages per issue. Instead of one ongoing story, there’ll be 15, including a Hawkman story by Kyle Baker (click the link for art, it’s loverly) and that Neil Gaiman/Mike Allred Metamorpho story I talked about earlier. Other characters include Batman, Adam Strange, Wonder Woman, Catwoman, Supergirl, Superman, Etrigan, Teen Titans, Kamandi, Sgt. Rock, Deadman and the Metal Men. The creators sound good, too (see the link). The stories are going to be out-of-continuity, but are meant to be accessible for new readers. Which is fine by me. We really, really need new readers.

-Hey look, Blackest Night #0 preview pages! Spoilers for Final Crisis, if you haven’t read it yet. It’s just two pages, but they definitely intrigue…

Dark Reign: Elektra #1 preview is up too. Frankly, I stuck it up here for the pricess/chilling line about “Hawkeye.”

-Grant Morrison and Jim Lee’s Wildcats series is now going to finished as a graphic novel. Probably the way to go at this point, but it does make the wait even longer…

It’s Webcomics Weekend in Massachusetts! I’ll never make it…

-Double your Morrison with two interviews: a CBR interview where he elaborates on Batman and Robin (I’d personally love to see a Batman/Batwoman team-up) and a Wired interview where he talks about his recent work, namely Final Crisis and All-Star Superman. The Wired one is especially FUDOtastic, but both are worth checking out. They even hint at future projects, including not one, but TWO books about DC’s multiverse.

I’m going to bed. Enjoy!

2 Responses to “Bits and pieces”

  1. spiffyithaca Says:

    I love Battlestar Galactica. It frakkin’ sucks that its over.

    Wednesday Comics sounds really fun, and Baker is a helluva talent. I’ve never read his work but I could always tell lol, and his Hawkman pages are awesome.

    I’m saving myself for when Blackest Night #0 actually comes out, but it’s my most anticipated of comics.

    And I’m set on ignoring Elektra, even if that looked cool.

    Good stuff as always Goki. These little tidbits are my favorite thing you do. Remind me of my days of reading EVERY newsarama story. Now you do it for me!

  2. gokitalo Says:

    Hahaha, yes. It’s crack in comic news form!

Leave a Reply

