What to buy: October 14, 2009

by

Want some comic book recommendations two weeks in a row? You’re in luck, Groin reader(s). The GGG Renaissance continues with a look at what to buy, or consider buying, this Wednesday.

The Essentials

Fables #89

If you’re not familiar with the blog, I love Fables. I think it’s the best book on the market, and has been for several years. Issue #89 should be yet another reminder of that fact, as “Witches” continues. There were some great developments last issue that should spill out into full-scale awesomeness here. Admittedly, this won’t be very accessible for a new reader, but let me recommend finding a way to get caught up enough to get on this title (if you can’t get all the trades, try picking it up from around #76 or so).

Uncanny X-Men #516

The cover pretty much says it all. In fact, the only elaboration Marvel’s web site gives in its solit for this issue is: “He returns.” Matt Fraction has had a good run on Uncanny, starting out as a co-writer with Ed Brubaker and continuing on solo. Now, after establishing a new status quo for the X-Men and mutant kind in general, he might be about to bring it all to the ground as “Nation X” begins. Even if you haven’t been getting Uncanny, I don’t think you’ll want to miss this one.

Should Buy

Marvels Project #3 (of 8 )

The first issue was great, the second one slightly underwhelming. I expect this one to be great again, which could push this miniseries into an “Essential” for its remainder. Brought to you by Ed Brubaker and Steve Epting, this look at the early days of Marvel superheroes could still turn into one of the year’s best events.

Green Lantern Corps. #41

I originally had this comic under the next subheading, but decided screw it, I’m going to give this book some love. As I commented in the recent Blackest Night thread, this title has developed into a solid, underrated series. And with Blackest Night in full swing, what better time to check it out than with this tie-in. Most of the main Blackest Night miniseries has focused just on Hal Jordan, who rarely ever appears in this book, but I guarantee some events in Corps will have a significant impact before the crossover ends.

Red Robin #5

Another title I’m going to give some special love to. Red Robin has been a suprise hit for me. With so much focus on Dick Grayson’s new status as Batman, Tim Drake Wayne might have the best book in the Bat-book world right now. If you haven’t tried it yet, get at least #4 and this issue and see what you think.

Others to consider

Batman #691

Judd Winick has gotten the new Batman off to a good start, and with this issue, his run is already over. I’m interested to see what kind of note he goes out on before Tony Daniel takes over later this month.

Batgirl #3

It’s a topsy-turvy world in Gotham City these days, as everyone has a new title and a new book. With all that change, don’t overlook Batgirl. The jury is still out on just how good this book will be, but it has an interesting feel to it that Goki described best as a “young Peter Parker” dynamic. It’s worth a look.

Green Arrow/Black Canary #25

At some point, I’m going to try this, but it might not be for a few issues still. It looks like this book is in the middle of a fairly complex story (at least for an outsider who has never tried it).

Deadpool #900

Who cares if you read Deadpool or even like the character, you have to admire a book making a very imaginary jump from #16 to #900, putting it notably ahead of even Action Comics, which has its paltry #882 coming out this week. Sure, it’s a silly gag, but it worked on me. I’ll try Deadpool.

Incredible Hercules #136

God fight! This issue starts a Hercules vs. Thor battle. I have no idea why they’d fight, but they’re about to, and Marvel really wants you to know about it. Similar to Deadpool, it might not be the most subtle marketing premise ever, but again, it kind of works. I don’t know for sure whether I’ll buy it, but I’m certainly interested.

Blackest Night: Batman #3 (of 3)

OK, so it hasn’t been anything special so far. But it has Deadman in it, which is more than any other book can say this week. And that might be enough.

3 Responses to “What to buy: October 14, 2009”

  1. Gokitalo Says:

    I know who Eddie Murphy’s rooting for:

    I was originally thinking about skipping Deadpool #900, since my favorite DP writers (Fabian Nicieza and Joe Kelly) aren’t writing any of the stories. But you’re right: this is too good to pass up. In fact, they’re even coming out with Deadpool Team-Up #899

    I’ll snag Batgirl #3 after/if I snag #2. As for Batman, GL Corps, Marvels Project and Fables?

    Say it with me: TRADE-WAITING
    (although it won’t be easy now that you’ve found out my secret)

  2. davidry214 Says:

    Goki is such a dirty liar. Eventually, he won’t actually buy any comics, but he’ll keep letting us know that he’s going to get every book ever published in trade. Shameful …

    Well, I got to the shop and suddenly realized how many books I was going to be buying. The number was eight, with Hercules and Deadpool still on the shelf. For some reason, I didn’t want to hit double digits in one week, because that would be conclusive evidence I’ve become obsessed (probably too late). So, in a split-second decision, I went Hercules. My buy list for the week:

    Fables #89
    Uncanny X-Men #516
    Marvels Project #3 (of 8 )
    Batgirl #3
    Green Lantern Corps #41
    Red Robin #5
    Batman #691
    Blackest Night: Batman #3 (of 3)
    Incredible Hercules #136

    And it was a great week. I’m going to try to work on some quick reviews.

  3. Gokitalo Says:

    Goki is such a dirty liar. Eventually, he won’t actually buy any comics, but he’ll keep letting us know that he’s going to get every book ever published in trade.

    OXFORD DICTIONARY TPB, BABY

Leave a Reply

