What to Buy: October 28, 2009

by

The month is almost over, buy will the final week of new comics in October be a trick or treat? Wow, what a lame intro. But seriously, after last week was weak sauce, this week looks outstanding. Better get to the comic book shop tomorrow, you won’t want to miss these books.

The Essentials

Blackest Night #4 (of 8 )

The year’s biggest event hits its half-way mark. So far, Blackest Night has lived up to the hype for me, so I’m pretty excited. Geoff Johns is a mastermind, and Ivan Reis is as good as any artist in the industry right now.

Green Lantern #47

Get another dose of Blackest Night this week. Some of the BN tie-ins have missed the mark, as happens with any crossover, but the core title, Green Lantern, seems to never disappoint. With Reis temporarily off the book to draw the main BN mini, Doug Mahnke is filling in admirably; his art has improved significantly since he did JLA with Joe Kelly several years ago.

X-Factor #50

Fans of the blog may know I’m slightly obsessed with Peter David, one of the best writers of the past 20+ years. My fanship is for good reason, as X-Factor proves month after month. The “Summers Rebellion” story has been great, and the conclusion in this landmark issue should be orgasmic. Get pumped!

Should Buy

Jack of Fables #39

This is almost an “Essential,” but I can admit this book might not be for everyone. For me, though, it’s awesome. Willingham and Sturges provide a more light-hearted take in this Fables spin-off, combining adventure with comedy in a book that is purposefully postmodern as it satirizes traditional concepts of stories. This issue concludes a three-part story, and looks to provide a possible new direction for the title character, maybe even changing who the title refers to.

Justice Society of America #32

Another helping from the great writing team of Willingham and Sturges this week. I really should have this is the “Essential” category, but I forgot while writing that section and am too lazy to copy and paste it up there. Anywho, W&S are still early in their run on JSA, so if you haven’t tried it yet, you really, really should pick this up. Last month’s cliffhanger was huge, and one look at this issue’s cover should tell you there are some big developments going down. If you’ve never read Fables or Jack of Fables and feel like you can’t start on either now, then get this run while it’s still early and experience the genius of Bill Willingham.

Others to consider

Batman #692

Tony Daniel begins his run as writer and artist of the main Bat book. I’m a huge fan of his art; he’s one of the best in the biz. The only reason I’m not recommending this more emphatically is because I have no clue how his writing is. He did write Battle for the Cowl, so ask someone who read that. I’ll be getting this; the current Batman dynamic is pretty good.

Arkham Reborn #1 (of 3)

The recently destroyed Arkham Asylum is rebuilt in this miniseries, but some things never change: namely, Arkham is still going to be a madhouse in every sense of the word — an instrument that furthers crime’s future more than preventing it. Could be fun, but I think I’ll pass.

Blackest Night: Titans #3 (of 3)

Blackest Night: Batman and Superman wrapped up earlier this month, and Titans become the last of the first wave of limited series tie-ins to conclude. The first issue was very good, the second one a little repetitive. I’ll go ahead and buy this to see how it wraps up.

Dark Avengers: Ares #1 (of 3)

Big week for Dark Reign, starting with this limited series spotlighting the Dark Avengers’ second-biggest gun, Ares. I find him an intriguing character, and can remember reading a story from back when he was a rarely used villain. THis limited will apparently show him trying to regain his spot in the Pantheon, which could be good. Never heard of the writer, Kieron Gillen, though. We’ll see; could be an impulse buy, but it’s also a big week.

Dark Reign: The List — Punisher

The List continues as Norman Osborn now goes after the Punisher. Could be fun to watch Frank kill some of Norman’s lackeys, but I’m just not that into Punisher. I’ll pass.

Dark Reign: The List — Wolverine

This List one-shot I’m a bit more interested in. I get a little tired of new “Weapon [number]” characters being introduced, but it has Wolvy and Fantomex together, which I like. Also, Marvel Boy finally comes back, after deserting the Dark Avengers several issues ago, and I’ve been wanting to see what role he’ll pay. I’m leaning toward getting this.

New Avengers #58

I have absoutely no intention of getting this; I just wanted to point out that this book has become more about the Hood than the Avengers. He’s not that good of a villain, and writing him into every story isn’t going to make him one.

X-Necrosha

This one-shot is intriguing, but bad timing. Apparently the dead are rising as zombies (via Selene?), but in case you haven’t heard, DC is kind of dominating the whole “The Dead Shall Rise” shtick right now, so I doubt this gets noticed much. I won’t be getting it, but I will note that this crosses over into X-Force and New Mutants, two books I’m interested in trying once they start new stories.

4 Responses to “What to Buy: October 28, 2009”

  1. gokitalo Says:

    “The ‘Summers Rebellion’ story has been great, and the conclusion in this landmark issue should be orgasmic.”

    He does this for me, you know. It’s also a strangely apt description of the Summers’ family life.

    “Tony Daniel begins his run as writer and artist of the main Bat book. I’m a huge fan of his art; he’s one of the best in the biz. The only reason I’m not recommending this more emphatically is because I have no clue how his writing is. He did write Battle for the Cowl, so ask someone who read that.”

    Like me! Battle for the Cowl wasn’t bad, but it was pretty missable. Not entirely Tony Daniel’s fault, though, as it had a predetermined ending. Still, I have the feeling Daniel’s going to be able to spread his wings a little more on this upcoming storyline, where he can do more than just “connect the dots” continuity-wise. Also, check out these preview pages: this might be some of the best art I’ve seen from Tony yet.

    Dark Reign: The List- Wolverine (try saying that ten times fast) is on my to-buy list (Wolvie and Fantomex, Marvel Boy, pretty much what Dave said). My Top Three comics coming out this week? Blackest Night #4, X-Factor #50 and Green Lantern #47. I love how X-Factor is skipping all the way to issue #200 next month…

  2. Forgive the slight delay… « Goki’s Giving Groin Says:

    […] Goki’s Giving Groin Comics, movies, TV, sports… everything awesome, really « What to Buy: October 28, 2009 […]

  3. dillonmania Says:

    I got Blackest Night #4, X-Necrosha (needs moar Pyro), and Green Lantern 47.

  4. davidry214 Says:

    You should review X-Necrosha! I was definitely curious about it.

    I’m slightly surprised you’re not an X-Factor fan, Lia. I would have thought it would be right up your alley.

Leave a Reply

