IT HAS ARRIVED.

by

Well gang, this is it. After nearly two years of Grointasticness and sporadic updates, it’s time to finally put Goki’s Giving Groin back where it belongs:

In my pants.

Fear not, dear readers! This is NOT the end of the blog. However, this IS the beginning of the much-heralded changes to our lovely Inter-home. We begin with a name change: Goki’s Giving Groin will from this day forward be known as…

EAT MORE COMICS.

Delicious, isn’t it? Don’t worry, we’re still going to cover non-comic book related topics, as well. Yet if you look at the blog’s output, you’ll see that we’ve clearly talked about comics more than anything else. Not to mention that our old name probably isn’t too SFW. So now you can surf our blog without worrying about getting fired! Or sent to detention, for all you young scholars out there.

But wait! There’s more! In addition to changing our name, we are also starting… a message board! This’ll allow us to cover more topics at once, as well as increase interactivity with our readership (and each other). More importantly, it will allow you, the reader, the chance to come up with topics of your own. Can you feel the power?! Just don’t get carried away; we’d still be in charge, after all 😉

Expect the blog and the message board to have a symbiotic relationship (or symbiosis, if you prefer). We’ll link to popular message board topics on the blog and vice versa, and if we want to cover a message board topic in more depth, we’ll probably post on the blog. That said, expect blog posts and message board posts to be any length; we’re not letting format dictate how long our posts are going to be.

We’ll be posting the link to the message board some time this week, so stay tuned and save your appetites!

9 Responses to “IT HAS ARRIVED.”

  1. davidry214 Says:

    WOOT!!

    We here at Eat More Comics are pretty pumped about these changes. When Goki first pitched the idea of a comic book blog to Spiffy and I, we were all pretty excited about the possibilities this blog would offer. The three of us (and a couple other contributors, Rob and Lia) met on the original Marvel Message Boards, and from this blog’s beginnings, we were looking for ways to up the level of comics conversation. We’ve gone through a couple dry spells, but we feel we’re on the verge of a proud new era. So tell your friends and fellow comic book nerds to come check out the new Eat More Comics and make their voices heard, too.

  2. gokitalo Says:

    (many thanks to David for actually changing the name; I couldn’t do it right away due of temporary nostalgia. BUT I’M PAST THAT NOW)

  3. Lia Says:

    Whar’s my message board, I wants it now!

    Good lord, how many years ago were the Marvel boards? (the original good ones, not the horror they have now) I think that was in 2000/2001!

  4. dillonmania Says:

    Dang, wasn’t logged in properly. Ah well.

  5. gokitalo Says:

    You getz ur board soon! Quitz yerz bellyachin’!

    Steph would know better than me, but I think it was in 2001? Either way, we are surprisingly close to our 10th anniversary…

  6. davidry214 Says:

    The old Marvel Message Boards started in very early 2001, and lasted less than a year. Makes me feel old to think about how long ago that was.

  7. spiffyithaca Says:

    I thought I was missing out on all the progress/change, but I’m delighted to see that our blog is much like the Obama Administration, aside from a few superficial changes (white to black for them, Penis to Hunger for us), it’s more of the same.

    Ba-dum!

    No really, it’s probably safer to start the messageboard when there’s a stronger economic climate.

    Zing!

    I’m just kidding, I know I certainly haven’t been helpful in the shift. It’s been a tumultuous few months in the North Country, and it’s not going to get any easier from here until the semester’s over. But from Christmas until mid-Jan I should have more time to contribute/fraternize/sodomize around this here parts. But I will have you know, I am reading/lurking creepily. Great stuff guys!

    Also, remember when I wanted to join the dumb Apocalypse/Resistance RPG on the Marvel Messageboards and I tried to join the wrong side? I think that was the beginning of my downfall. I’ve been trying to forget it ever since…..(I apparently don’t drink enough)…

  8. gokitalo Says:

    This post makes me think that just for you, we should go back to “Penis.” Or a more appropriate synonym. 😉

    Welcome back, Spiff! I’ve been pretty busy myself lately. Fortunately, I’ve finally reached a “breathing point,” so the boards’ll be ready by this week or the weekend.

  9. davidry214 Says:

    I’m in the middle of preparing for finals, so I will probably be around less between now and near Christmas. Sorry all. But winter break will bring me back in full force, with the long overdue review of Peter and Max and Project: Hulk–Peter David.

Leave a Reply

