What to buy: November 25, 2009

by

Don’t head out for Thanksgiving until you pick up the last batch of new November comics. As mom always said, no turkey until you read your comic books!

On a serious note, a very Happy Thanksgiving from all of us here at Eat More Comics!

 The Essentials

Blackest Night #5 (of 8 )

In case you haven’t been keeping up with the year’s biggest crossover, Blackest Night is kind of a big deal. What will happen next? Well, in this issue, Black Lantern Max Lord comes out of the grave and snaps Wonder Woman’s neck. No, I’m bullshitting; I strongly doubt that will occur. If that actually happens, then my sincere apologies for spoiling it.

Green Lantern #48

In case you haven’t been keeping up with Green Lantern, it’s where all the biggest Blackest Night developments are actually happening. Buy it!

Justice Society of America #33

The conclusion to Willingham and Sturges’ first storyline should be a doozy.

Should Buy

Uncanny X-Men #517

Feels like a long time since part 1 of “Nation X” came out, but it was very good. A more nuanced Magneto/X-Men  story is a good thing.

Others to consider

Incredible Hercules #138

“Assault on New Olympus” begins. The issue I bought was a lot of fun, so I like the creative team. This four-part story should be more serious, and I’m hoping for a Herc/Ares fight at some point. I think it’s worth a shot.

Powers #1

Powers is back, but I can’t tell you anything about it. Ask Spiffy or maybe Goki.

Justice League of America #39

James Robinson and Mark Baglet’s second issue is a Blackest Night tie-in. The first issue was terrible, and I think I’ll pass on the two-part crossover tie-in and try again in January.

Justice League: Cry for Justice #5 (of 7)

More James Robinson, more Justice League. Might still suck, but I’ve bought the first four issues, and I feel committed.

Son of Hulk #17

The solit makes this sounds pretty epic, but I’m way too late to this party.

 

And now, here with more recommendations is the indomitable Gokitalo!

4 Responses to “What to buy: November 25, 2009”

  1. gokitalo Says:

    This week, buy:
    -a turkey (or a gun to get the turkey)
    -three cans of cranberry sauce
    -pumpkin pie
    -a biohazard mask, in case a loved one politely vomits the cranberry sauce back onto their plate
    -Justice League International Vol. 3 (now in softcover!)

    “In case you haven’t been keeping up with the year’s biggest crossover, Blackest Night is kind of a big deal. What will happen next? Well, in this issue, Black Lantern Max Lord comes out of the grave and snaps Wonder Woman’s neck. No, I’m bullshitting; I strongly doubt that will occur. If that actually happens, then my sincere apologies for spoiling it”

    If he’s right, this will either make Blackest Night: Wonder Woman really awesome or really awkward…

    Uncanny X-Men #517? I think I’m more than a little Magneto’d out right now.

    And finally, Powers #1. If you still have cash left over after Thanksgiving, Blackest Night and JLI, go for it. Unless it’s $3.99: that’s almost four bucks you could be using on a good hazard mask.

    EDIT- one more recommendation: The Flash vs. The Rogues TPB! Collects classic tales of the Flash and his greatest foes. This one’s for our resident Rogues aficionado 😉 Plus, the Rogues are just awesome.

  2. davidry214 Says:

    Haha, I just looked at the Blackest Night: Wonder Woman solit, and yeah, my prediction was pretty right on, just made for the wrong book. Of course, I doubt WW dies, as I suggested — DC has tried that enough times, never takes. It is interesting Max is the main Black Lantern; I thought her mini would focus more on her mother, Hippolyta. (Is she even still dead? I know she bit it in “Our Worlds at War,” but I don’t follow WW enough to know if she’s been brought back since.)

    JLI is a good recommendation; nice pick, Goki. I haven’t gotten the first two volumes, so obviously #3 is down a bit on my list, but I will consider at least Vol. 1 as a possible Christmas buy.

    Magneto actually plays a very small and more subtle role in the Uncanny story, so I think you might be surprised how good it is, even given Mags’ constant overuse.

    I like the Rogues, but I’m not Lia, so I’m not sure my passion for the villains is enough for me to buy the collection. There’s a lot of tpbs on my list …

  3. spiffyithaca Says:

    For the first 20-30 issues of Powers, it was Bendis’ best book on the market. That includes Ultimate Spider-Man. After awhile, I lost interest, but that may have been a symptom of losing interest in comics altogether (this was the first time I quit circa 2006).

    If I was still reading though, I’d definitely check out the first issue.

    Beyond Powers, Bendis’ original work has always been on my wish list and probably shows his true writing prowess, especially if more than David are growing tiresome of his Marvel work. In 2010, I’ll write a review of one of his graphic novels.

    Also: I’m sorry again for my sporadic postings. I won’t be free to do much of anything until December 17th. Though I will try to respond to the Batman post.

  4. davidry214 Says:

    I’m just happy to see a Spiffy sighting.

    I really don’t doubt Powers was good, but the descriptions just never caught my fancy enough to try it. And I’m glad, because if it were that good, I might have mixed feelings about Bendis, instead of being able to just wish he’d go the way of Chuck Austin and mercifully disappear.

    I look forward to a review from you in 2010. Some time in the next 13 months, we’ll get a post from Spiffy!

Leave a Reply

