News ‘n things- UPDATED DEC 3, 2009

by

Random things around the Internetz, which I keep brief for my sanity:

  • Building a better movie sequel: Robert Downey Jr. isn’t just acting in Iron Man 2: Jon Favreau says he’s actively involved in the rewrites and is a great writer to boot. Anyone else see Iron Man 2 as the superhero film of 2010? Maybe even THE film of 2010!
  • Who’s the identity of current Buffy villain Twilight? Why, Barack Obama, of course!
  • Tom Spurgeon makes a [preliminary] list of the 83 best superhero comics of the decade. All in all, it’s a really solid list. In fact, lots of people are making “best of decade” lists now. Maybe we should get in on this too, dear readers!
  • The Onion’s AV club comes up with a list of best comics of the decade in general. People have complained about certain omissions (e.g. manga), but hey, they could always make your own list.
  • The Eisner Awards are now accepting submissions for 2010! We’ll see who wins out…
  • NEW: Mark Millar and Steve McNiven finally unveil the details behind “Nemesis,” their next project! The premise: “What if Batman was the Joker?” This’ll actually be a creator-owned Marvel title, so we this won’t actually be “Batman” OR “The Joker,” but there’ll obviously be similarities. Millar’s got a great eye for taking advantage of what’s on the cultural zeitgeist, eh?
  • NEW: You’ll be seeing green once you see Alex Ross and John Cassady’s covers for Kevin Smith’s 10-issue Green Hornet series. Oh, and guess what? Kevin Smith’s already handed in the script for every issue. Which means this series is coming out ON TIME. Not a hoax! Not a dream! Not an imagi– hey, waitaminute…
  • NEW: Speaking of green, Geoff Johns Prime is back! This is your chance to ask Geoff what’s on your mind. Who knows, maybe you can ask him about gardening tips or something.

Happy reading!

5 Responses to “News ‘n things- UPDATED DEC 3, 2009”

  1. davidry214 Says:

    It’s amazing what a turnaround Robert Downey Jr.’s career has gone through in the past two years, largely thanks to Iron Man. Still, they better be careful about what they give him credit for with regards to rewrites. Don’t want another Edward Norton situation.

    I didn’t see Fables on either Decade-Best list, which is surprising considering its critical acclaim. Saw Y: The Last Man on there, which is appropriate. There were some books that made it and shouldn’t have in my view, and of course, some that didn’t that I would have liked to. Obviously you can’t please everyone with lists like this, even the bigger and more encompassing one. Still, both Surgeon and Onion used a lot of less-mainstream books, several of which I hadn’t even heard of.
    We’ll totally have to do our own version!

    I’ve never been a big fan of books that create characters very clearly based on other companies’ big guns. There are exceptions, of course, because there’s a limited number of power sets, but when you’re clearly doing Batman and Joker for Marvel — meh, no thanks.

    Green Hornet sounds cool (and looks great!). Smart move to hold the book until Smith turned everything in, but judging from the past two books I’ve read from him, even that doesn’t guarantee Smith’s story will be all that good. Maybe if I were already a big Green Hornet fan, I wouldn’t be able to resist trying it; as is, I think I’m OK with not knowing what I’m missing.

    I submitted two questions for Geoff. One was about something he did in Flash: Rebirth #5; I’ll stay nonspecific in case someone hasn’t read it yet. Second question: what are some flowers you can plant now in late fall that might be able to survive the winter? I want to see whether he really can give us gardening tips (something tells me that Q won’t get picked).

  2. gokitalo Says:

    I am so happy you actually asked him about gardening. I will gladly give up the question I submitted (“if the Guardians are so untrustworthy, why do the Green Lanterns keep working for them?”) if it means they’ll ask your gardening question instead.

    “We’ll totally have to do our own version!”

    Then it’s settled! We’ll do it!

    You know, I think Smith’s Green Hornet’s going to turn out pretty well. Despite his recent output, this is based off a movie script he wrote years ago, back when his writing was more on the ball.

    “I’ve never been a big fan of books that create characters very clearly based on other companies’ big guns. There are exceptions, of course, because there’s a limited number of power sets, but when you’re clearly doing Batman and Joker for Marvel — meh, no thanks.”

    I can understand that: I mean, how many Superman and Batman analogues have we seen already, right? But at the same time, analogues have their advantages. You can take them in directions you couldn’t take the characters they’re based off, like Alan Moore did with his Charlton Hero analogues in Watchmen. Or you can incorporate the best elements of the original character into your analogue without worrying about what isn’t in continuity anymore, like Alan Moore did with Superman in Supreme. Say, Alan’s sure worked a lot with analogues, doesn’t he? He’s one of those guys who can really pull it off. I think Mark Millar, who’s no stranger to analogues himself (see the evil Avengers in his Authority run and his modernized Avengers in The Ultimates), can do the same.

  3. spiffyithaca Says:

    I agree wholeheartedly with the Marvel Batman and Joker idea, but if I was reading comics, I would get it anyways. It’s simple: Mark Millar is one of the best in the business (and he particularly shines in elseworlds what with Red Son and then his Ultimates success with X-Men and Ultimates) and McNiven is one of the better artists too, though I liked his Crossgen work more than his Marvel stuff (though he had some beautiful stuff in Civil War, it wasn’t all great. his faces look too familiar).

    At the time the Green Hornet was being greenlighted (it’s not even a pun and it’s still lame), I was really disappointed that Kevin Smith wasn’t involved. He apparently chickened out. I’m far more interested in Smith’s film career than comics at this point, but if this series is based on what he wrote for a possible movie, I’ll definitely look into it….wait for it Goki….once it’s in trade (so 2012).

    What do you guys think of the fact that Seth Rogen is the Green Hornet in the upcoming movie? If I took the character seriously, I might be upset. But I love Seth Rogen, so why not?

  4. gokitalo Says:

    “I’m far more interested in Smith’s film career than comics at this point, but if this series is based on what he wrote for a possible movie, I’ll definitely look into it….wait for it Goki….once it’s in trade (so 2012).

    ZING

    Spiff: “Expect a review… May 2015!”

    I dunno, I might check out the Hornet movie. Seth Rogen’s great, but if he’s going for superhero comedy, he has to make sure it’s funny, not campy. We’ve had plenty of bad campy superhero movies already (“Robin, will you touch my… BAT-NIPPLES”)

  5. spiffyithaca Says:

    If it’s purposefully campy, it’d still be comic gold!

Leave a Reply

