THIS. IS. PERSIAAAAAA!!!!!

by

Wow, now here’s some big news. Frank Miller’s making a sequel to 300. Not a movie sequel, mind you, although Miller says it would be used as a basis for another 300 film. This one’s a comic, just like the original 300, and will focus on a young Xerxes I of Persia, a.k.a. the guy Gerard Butler kicked into a pit the antagonist in 300… and the guy Gerard Butler hurled a spear at. :b The name of this upcoming graphic novel? Xerxes, of course! For you history buffs, this will be the story of the Battle of Marathon, Frank Miller style.

Talk about a surprise. Last I heard, Frank Miller was working on his Batman vs. al-Qaeda story, Holy Terror, Batman! However, this project sounds a lot more promising. I haven’t read 300 all the way through yet, but I did see the movie and generally enjoyed it. Besides, this could mean a return to the art style Miller used in 300, which isn’t TOO different from his recent stuff, but has a polish his more current work sometimes lacks. Just check out how he drew Xerxes, for example. And doesn’t the painted coloring by Lynn Varley look great? If she’s up for it, I’d love to see her onboard for the sequel.

2 Responses to “THIS. IS. PERSIAAAAAA!!!!!”

  1. davidry214 Says:

    Interesting. I’ve never read 300, so I don’t know that I’d get this. But I liked the movie quite a bit, so if they do make a movie off this sequel, I’m sure I’d probably see it. The Battle of Marathon is an amazing story, worthy of a comic or film.

    For the record though, Xerxes wasn’t the guy he kicked into the pit. 😉

  2. Gokitalo Says:

    Oh right. Okay, better edit that…

Leave a Reply

