The Year of the Sequel. And remake.

by

So I came across this article running down some of the big movie releases for 2010. There might be more complete listings out there, but even with what you see in that article, it is fairly obvious that the 2010 movie landscape could be dominated by sequels and remakes.

All in all, there look to be at least 10 sequels coming out this year, and at least 11 remakes.  A few notables (more listed in the link):

Sequels

Iron Man 2

Shrek Forever

Toy Story 3

Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows, Part 1

The Chronicles of Narnia: The Voyage of the Dawn Treader

Being that this is primarily a comics blog, I am sure we would all count Iron Man 2 at or very near the top of out most anticipated movies list. I loved the original Shrek, but I think it is probably time to give up on that franchise. Toy Story 3 could go either way; #2 was not great, but I have a good feeling about this one. I am not a Harry Potter fan, but I have been dragged to all the others, and I am sure I will see this one, too (I will admit that the movies have become more bearable since #4). I loved reading the Chronicles of Narnia books when I was a kid, so while Prince Caspian was mediocre, I will still go see the newest movie. Dawn Treader was my second or third favorite book of the series.

Remakes

The Wolf Man

Clash of the Titans

Alice in Wonderland

Robin Hood

The A-Team

Karate Kid

Footloose

Red Dawn

Green Hornet

Some of these are movies that could be good or suck, but ones that I do not care enough about to find out. Footloose is definitely one of those. I like the cast of The Wolf Man, but it does not look like something I would see in theaters. I never saw the original Red Dawn, but feel like I should just because the TV show Scrubs referenced it a few times. Karate Kid stars Jaden Smith (son of Will Smith), with Jackie Chan as the new Mr. Miyagi-type character; I am skeptical. I actually loved the original Clash of the Titans, finding its terrible special effects to be charming, and the idea of gods fighting to be pretty cool. If the buzz is good when the new one arrives, I imagine I will be on board. Green Hornet stars Seth Rogen and is directed by the brilliant but artsy Michel Gondry; no part of that sounds like your typical superhero movie, which could make it something special (or a stinker). Russell Crowe and director Ridley Scott will do their 27th movie together (slight exaggeration) with Robin Hood; it looks a little like the Clive Owen King Arthur movie, trying to ground the legend with some degree of history. I will see Alice for Tim Burton, and probably The A-Team just because … well fuck, it is the A-Team (I never saw the show, but there is something cool about the line, “We’re the A-Team.”). Though I am disappointed that they cast some UFC guy to play the role Mr. T had; they should have just let Mr. T do it again himself.

10 Responses to “The Year of the Sequel. And remake.”

  1. Prince Caspian – Official Trailer | Miscellaneous Videos Says:

    […] The Year of tjhe Sequel. And remake. « Eat More Comics […]

  2. spiffyithaca Says:

    Good post, AA. I was reading the top 100 movies of 2010 the other week, and didn’t even consider a possible topic.

    For me, I’m most looking forward to Harry Potter 7, Part 1. Everyone knows Harry Potter is one of, if not, my favorite thing. It will always be inextricably linked to my childhood, and I still hope to cling onto it. Since Chris Columbus left the movie franchise after 2, the movies have gotten better and better under Cuaron and Yates. I’ve really liked the past two, and am so psyched for these last two, because the last Harry Potter book made me cry continually.

    After HP, Iron Man 2 is the no brainer right behind it. I have a hard time believing it’ll top the first, but Rourke and ScarJo is a promising start, and the prospect of War Machine looks great too.

    Like you, I’m over Shrek, and could care less about the 4th.

    Unlike you, I’m not overly psyched by Narnia. The first was pretty damn good, the second highly mediocre. And of course, I didn’t read the books beyond The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe. I will at some point, so relax, adoring public.

    I am more pumped for Toy Story 3. Pixar can do no wrong. Wall-E and Up are two of the best movies of this past decade, and they still haven’t made a bad film since their inception. Toy Story 2 was weak in comparison to the first one, but that’s because the first one was so magical. I have 100% confidence in them, and as thus, absolute faith that they wouldn’t be making this if it wouldn’t be fucktastic. So, I’d slot it at #3 behind Iron Man and HP.

    As far as the remakes go, I’m very interested to see Wolfman. Benicio Del Toro looks like a Wolfman without CGI, so an excellent choice, and it’ll be fun to see Anthony Hopkins and Agent Smith/Elrond in a movie again. And Emily Blunt is a top 5-10 actress for the upcoming decade.

    I’m excited for Clash of the Titans, because I think it’ll be a fun romp, but doubt it’ll be much of a movie. I need to see the original.

    I always like Burton’s movies, but have never been in love with them, but will enjoy his Alice, I’m sure. 3-D will help.

    I’m most excited for Green Hornet, because Seth Rogen is one of my favorite people in the world, and Gondry is such an interesting choice, it has to be an entertaining experience, no matter what. I wish this was 3-D.

    Other movies AA ignored on purpose:

    -Wall Street 2: Haven’t seen the first.

    -Sex and the City 2: Ditto, and have no desire for this one.

    -Twilight: Eclipse: Your Uncle Spiffy is only a little ashamed to say that he’s read the first two books and seen the first two movies, and will probably keep doing the same, just because I like to see how far our culture has devolved (and I have a slight crush on whatsherface).

    -Little Fockers: God, I hate Ben Stiller sometimes. If it weren’t for Tropic Thunder…

    And another sequel I can’t wait for is TRON Legacy, which looks AWESOME.

  3. Gokitalo Says:

    They’re remaking Footlose? And are making an A-Team movie?!?! Forget Hollywood’s 80s lovefest (see also: Karate Kid); those are both terrible ideas. Like David said, if you’re going to do an A-Team movie, then at least bring Mr. T onboard. I mean, the man looks exactly the same as he did when A-Team first aired! Then again, if the movie bombs, maybe T’s absence is for the best.

    Then there’s Footloose. I never saw the movie all the way through, but the soundtrack’s fantastic and the big prom dance scene is probably the most fun prom dance scene since Grease. You can see why Hollywood would want to remake it (one word: money), but given its horrible track record with remakes, I don’t exactly have high hopes for Footloose. Even Kenny Loggins can only carry you so far…

    My gut reaction when I heard about Wall Street 2 is “don’t do it,” but I immediately reconsidered. Not just because Oliver Stone is directing it, but because a movie like Wall Street 2, if done well, could have a lot to say about our current economic climate.

    The verdict’s still out on Shia LaBouef, though. I liked him in Even Stevens, but he hasn’t really wowed me in any of the movies he’s been in. Not that they’ve all been bad, mind you…

    Wow, more Meet the Parents? I thought that ship had saaaailed. Still, my taste in humor’s fairly broad and I enjoyed the first two movies. Even though my family and I watched the first one way too many times, for some reason. I think someone used it for a class project?

    Alice and Iron Man 2 are probably the 2010 movies I want to see most so far. Green Hornet has potential (this is gonna be his year, especially if the movie does well). I need to watch TRON before watching TRON Legacy. I don’t know if I’ll need to watch Toy Story 2 before watching Toy Story 3, but the original Toy Story was great.

    Finally, I share Spiff’s ambivalence towards Sex and the City 2, although I did see the first one when my sister had a friend over. It was one of the most materialistic movies I’ve ever seen. That said, it wasn’t terrible. And I actually find myself mildly concerned about the rumors swirling around Mr. Big.

    That said, I’ll skip the sequel. At least until my sister rents it and invites her friend over again.

  4. spiffyithaca Says:

    Here’s a trailer to the A-Team, and it looks cooler than I expected, though the new Mr. T does seem lame (and I wasn’t as adamant about having Mr. T still do it, even if I love the guy):

    http://movies.msn.com/movies/movie-trailers/?g=c080c616-87c4-4d76-a16b-b9057f11799b&GT1=28101

  5. davidry214 Says:

    Narnia is linked to my childhood in the same way Harry Potter is to yours, so I’ll keep watching despite the swing-and-a-miss of the second movie. Besides, Caspian wasn’t really any worse than the first two or three HP movies, which made me want to bludgeon myself to death.

    It’s probably a topic for a separate topic, but why the fuck is Whiplash in Iron Man 2? Talk about a B or even C-list villain. That would be like if Raimi had picked Mysterio for Spider-Man 2. But Black Widow is awesome, and I’m fairly in love with Scarlett Johanssen. And I’ll trust Marvel Studios until they go wrong.

    I think A-Team might be able to be carried by Liam Neeson and Bradley Cooper. Or it could be this year’s G.I. Joe.

    Meet the Parents isn’t remotely worth my time. The first movie was incredibly overrated, the second one looked terrible, and I can imagine no reason to bother with #3.

    I think Wall Street 2 will be very successful, because of the economic climate. But I’ve never cared much for Oliver Stone.

  6. davidry214 Says:

    Also, I really enjoyed Goki pretending he was forced to watch Sex and the City. Just admit that you loved it and are going to see #2 on Opening Day.

  7. spiffyithaca Says:

    LOL, amen to that. I knew something was up. Of course, I use my sister as an excuse/reason to go see the Twilight movies (though I full well know they are mediocre at best, and that’s being nice).

    Fair enough about Narnia, though it’s funny that, while you’re merely a year older, your childhood book series is forty plus years older. Certainly stood the test of time (as HP will).

    I’ll buy A-Team as a solid summer flick, especially with Cooper and Neeson involved. I don’t think it’ll be even close to as bad as G.I. Joe looked. At least, I hope not.

    Do yourself a favor and check out the TRON trailer, David and Goki. I need to rewatch the original. Great stuff.

  8. davidry214 Says:

    Yeah, I would watch Sex and the City before Twilight. That’s just embarrassing for you.

    I really want Bradley Cooper to prosper in general. I’ve been a fan ever since Alias.

    Post the link to thr TRON trailer, and I’ll watch it. But I never saw the original, so I’m not sure I’ll fully appreciate it.

  9. spiffyithaca Says:
  10. davidry214 Says:

    Meh. Maybe if I watch the original, that’ll seem more interesting.

Leave a Reply

