News ‘n bits, Jan. 12, 2010

by

Don’t worry, that Eagle post is coming! However, Spiff and David’s recent prolificness has inspired me to give you guys a little something extra while you wait. So here’s some recent comic news, along with commentary:

  • Like Spiff talked about, Spider-Man 4 is out, as Sony’s opted to reboot the franchise. In some sort of bizarre cosmic coincidence, we find out a day later that the Spider-Man musical, Spider-Man: Turn off the Dark, is back on track. Now I know some of you are thinking this is a terrible trade-off, but I can’t help but think of the potential awesomeness of a Spider-Man musical with U2 music and Alan Cumming (X2’s Nightcrawler) as Peter Parker. Evan Rachel Wood’s in it, too, who I’m not really familiar with,
  • DC’s finally unveiled what comes after Blackest Night: Brightest Day! It’s both the name of a new bi-weekly series by Geoff Johns and Pete Tomasi and a banner title for the new/retooled titles coming out of Blackest Night. What can we expect to see? A new Flash series by Johns, a new Titans team led by Deathstroke (creative team changes too, as Eric Wallace and Fabrizio Fiorentino hop onboard) and new characters joining the Justice League (and a JLA/JSA crossover, apparently). The series I’m most excited about, without a doubt, is Johns and Tomasi’s Brightest Day, which plans to explore not just the Green Lantern characters, but the DC Universe on the whole in a post-Blackest Night world. As Johns himself mentions in his interview, it looks like it’s going to be a lot like 52. Which, in my humble opinion, is no bad thing!
  • Hey, remember what happened to Kitty Pryde in Astonishing X-Men? Well, guess what happens in (spoiler link ahead) in Uncanny X-Men #552, out in March… I’m kind of X-Men’d out right now, but I hope this doesn’t take away from the strength of Joss Whedon’s final Astonishing issue. At least it implies Kitty’s fate is reversible.
  • BWA-HA-BWUH? The beloved Justice League Internatonal returns in Justice League: Generation Lost, co-written by Keith Giffen and… Judd Winick. No, that’s not a typo. As you can tell from my ellipses, I too am surprised at seeing “Judd Winick” where “J.M. DeMatteis” would usually be. As much as I would love, love, love, love to see DeMatteis return to JLI with Giffen, I’m not writing off Winick yet. Sure, he’s written some bad comics. Yet he’s also written some pretty funny ones. Frumpy the Clown? Classic humor. There’s also Barry Ween, which I haven’t read yet, but I hear is fairly awesome. Oh, and let’s not forget Winick’s Exiles run, which had plenty of humorous moments, especially thanks to Morph.
  • Whoa, but guess what? Click on the link above and you’ll find out that J.M. DeMatteis and Keith Gifeen ARE working together again, as they’re going to become the new creative team of Booster Gold! The talented Chris Batista joins them as penciller. Now this is fantastic news. Although I hope Jurgens gets to finally tell the story of how Booster got his Legion flight ring, which the series promised us ages ago…
  • NEW: can’t believe I forgot this. Geoff Johns is co-writing an issue of Tiny Titans, featuring Superboy! Check out the interview, it’s a lot of fun.

It’s been a pretty big week, huh? And it’s only Tuesday!

8 Responses to “News ‘n bits, Jan. 12, 2010”

  1. davidry214 Says:

    I hadn’t heard about the Spidey musical, but it sounds fairly awesome, with Cummings as Green Goblin. Evan Rachel Wood is gorgeous, and was amazing in Across the Universe (she also had a smaller but very good role in The Wrestler).

    Brightest Day sounds fine, but I worry Johns cold become the next Brian Michael Bendis, a guy who becomes overexposed as the company relies too heavily on him and uses him as the architect of excessive crossovers. I doubt that he’ll ever fall as far Bendis, if for no other reason than he’s much more talented and consistent than Bendis. But Flash: Rebirth has shown some chinks in the Johns armor, and I think such flaws become almost inevitable when a company leans so heavily on one writer.

    I love Kitty Pryde, and I think her return was always inevitable, and a good thing. Whedon did his finale perfectly, giving her a dramatic “end,” but making sure to not actually kill her. As a result, we get a beloved character back. When a writer decides to just kill major characters on his way out the door (see the end of Grant Morrison’s New X-Men run), it often just leads to bad retcons and sloppy deus ex machina.

    I’m still a Winick fan. His stuff did go downhill, but I’m a big believer in his talent. His Exiles and Green Lantern were two of the best runs to not make our Best of the Decade list. And, most importantly, he’ll be teaming with a writer in Giffen who is already extremely familiar with these characters, and I think that’ll help create a dynamite run.

    And Giffen and DeMatteis taking over Booster Gold is probably the best news of this entire post. Nothing against Jurgens, who has become somewhat underrated, but that’s a dream team. Plus, I was interested in trying the book anyway, and now I know a good jump-on point isn’t too far away.

    Tiny Titans is the shit.

  2. spiffyithaca Says:

    She’s also real funny on True Blood. She’s a far superior choice as Mary Jane than Kirsten Dunst ever was (although I didn’t mind her in the movies, to be fair).

    I’d be willing to bet that Johns will start Brightest Day with Tomasi for the requisite hype needed, but by the middle of the year, Tomasi will have taken the reigns, to allow Johns to strut his stuff elsewhere, which probably wouldn’t be a bad thing, with your concerns and Tomasi’s emerging talent on GL Corps.

    I, too, am okay with Winick’s addition to JLI. In hindsight, we should’ve found a way to put Exiles on our run list. I was the only one NOT to do six, so you can blame me.

    I agree with David: the Booster Gold news is the best and most interesting news here (and while I preferred the book when Jurgens was just the artist and Johns was the writer, Jurgens held me interested until I quit comics, and deserves mucho credit for creating the character). This is perfect…if only Ted could join them (that would bring me out of retirement). If Goki didn’t say Batista was talented, I would’ve suggested that Jurgens stay on as penciller, so he could keep with his boy Booster.

  3. davidry214 Says:

    I honestly thought Kirsten Dunst did great as MJ in the movies. She only faltered, in my eyes, in the third movie, when everyone faltered.

    Did the article mention how long Brightest Day is supposed to be? I only scanned it, but didn’t see that anywhere.

    Yeah, I feel kinda bad about leaving off X-Factor and Exiles, but honestly, we could have made the list twice as big and still left off some deserving candidates.

    And yes, bringing back Ted would really make everything perfect. I realized for the first time during the Blackest Night tie-in how much I miss Ted. Yes, the new Beetle is fine, but it’s not the same.

    I’d like to see Jurgens pop up on another title that interests me. His art is very good, and while his writing can be a little uneven, it has its high points. When I first started reading comics, he did a very solid run on Captain America. And of course, he was one of the chief architects of the infamous Death of Superman/World Without a Superman/Return of Superman trilogy — to this day, probably the greatest in-continuity Superman story ever.

  4. Gokitalo Says:

    Here’s an interview with Matt Fraction on bringing back Kitty Pryde:
    http://www.comicbookresources.com/?page=article&id=24423

    I’m sure fans’ll be pleased to know he cleared Kitty’s return with Joss Whedon. From the sounds of it, Magneto will be involved (seeing as Kitty was basically stuck in a giant bullet, this makes a certain degree of sense)…

  5. davidry214 Says:

    I’m sure it’ll help sales that they leaked this, but I kinda wish they hadn’t; it would have been much more dramatic to be surprised by it. The better way to handle it would have been what Marvel did when Whedon brought back Colossus. They leaked that a popular X-Man would return, and most of the speculation was that it’d be Jean Grey. I remember being beautifully shocked when it was Piotr.

  6. Gokitalo Says:

    True. That was a clever move on Marvel’s part (not so clever revealing the Colossus variant cover the next day, but still). Still, I guess it’s smart from a marketing perspective, since I’m sure plenty of people will want to see the event for themselves.

  7. davidry214 Says:

    Ha, I didn’t remember that part. For some reason I had in my mind that the Colossus cover wasn’t until the next issue. And yeah, sales are more important for them (understandable), but since I’m already plodding along on Uncanny — a book that’s too good to drop, but never reaches greatness — the surprise would have been a nice change.

  8. Weekly Recommendations for Feb. 17, 2010 « Eat More Comics Says:

    […] known for more than a month about Marvel’s intentions for a particular missing X-Man — like Hercules, the company has chosen marketing over story […]

Leave a Reply

