The Birds of Prey are back

by

Okay, I am now convinced 2010 is going to be one of the best years ever. Gail Simone and Ed Benes are coming back to Birds of Prey. In a new ongoing. Now, I hate to admit this, but I missed out on a lot of Gail’s first run. However, Secret Six has ensured I won’t be making that mistake again. It’s about time DC’s premiere female team came back to show the boys they’re not the only ones who can play in the superhero sandbox. Or something like that.

5 Responses to “The Birds of Prey are back”

  1. gokitalo Says:

    “Best year ever”? Hyperboletastic! Still, I’m feeling pretty good about 2010.

  2. davidry214 Says:

    I read 0 issues of Simone’s first Birds of Prey run. In fact, I really haven’t read that much of her stuff period, despite liking everything I have gotten to try. But I won’t make the same mistake yet again; I’ll be reading BoP this time around.

  3. spiffyithaca Says:

    Wow, sounds like I may be the expert on Simone and Birds of Prey (though Goki has outflanked me on Secret Six by now, I suspect). I really loved Simone and Benes on the title. I never had a reason to give a shit about the title until they joined, but for awhile, it was one of my favorite titles I was reading (and I was reading A LOT).

    Plus, Ed Benes draws great ta-ta’s (at first I saw him as kind of a cheesecake artist like the Dodsons, but he’s far better than that).

  4. davidry214 Says:

    Yeah, I like Ed Benes too. He and the late Mike Wieringo are/were both able to have a slight cartoony edge to their art, but still make it work in a serious way and pull it off for superhero books.

    I’d like to try some BoP tpbs, but god, I have so much wish-list reading already.

  5. gokitalo Says:

    Ditto!

    I go back and forth with Ed Benes (the recent Green Lantern issue he did with John Stewart was pretty good), but I think going back to BoP could be good for him. Or let him Hulk out on cheesecake. We shall see…

Leave a Reply

