What to Buy: Jan. 13, 2010

by

This is what, our eighth new topic in as many days? Look at us, being all active and shit. Plus, the message board has some new topics, and my latest PROJECT will make its triumphant debut on Friday, with reviews returning next week. Law dee daw indeed.

It’s good that you have all our stuff to read, because there’s shit coming out today in regards to new comic books. Click on for a brief look at some seriously slim pickings.

The Essentials

Feel free to disagree, but I cannot classify anything this week as Essential.

Should Buy

Swing and a miss again; I don’t think there’s anything you really “should” necessarily get. Keep looking.

Others to Consider

Black Panther #12

The most interesting release this week is BP, with the “Prelude to DoomWar” sounding and looking pretty bad ass. I’ll buy it, because I think DoomWar, which starts next month, looks pretty rad. But I’ve never read this creative team, so I can’t really call it a “Should Buy.”

Dark X-Men #3 (of 5)

This is highly anticipated for me, just because I really like Nate Grey. But if you’re less of an X-Man fan, then this mini’s uneven writing might not be for you.

Batman #695

Tony Daniel is going to have just a couple more chances to impress me. He does a lot of things well, but it’s time to starts connecting the dots better.

X-Men Forever #15

Goki likes it, and he’s gotten me intrigued too. I might keep an eye for an opening to try this.

Batgirl #6

The new Batgirl and the new Robin have their first team-up. Could be interesting, but I won’t be there for it.

Booster Gold #28

Booster Gold is a time-travelling superhero who, in this issue, gets lost in time, which means he sucks at his job. Just kidding, I’m sure this is very good for its regular readers.

Secret Six #17

Gail Simone rules, so I have no doubt that this is an Essential for its readers. Unfortunately, I am not one of them (yet?).

Other somewhat notable release: Strange #3 (of 4), Nation X #2 (of 4), Green Arrow/Black Canary #28, Catwoman #83, Sword #3, X-Men Origins: Cyclops, Psylocke #3 (of 4), Invincible Iron Man #22, Adventure Comics #6.

10 Responses to “What to Buy: Jan. 13, 2010”

  1. spiffyithaca Says:

    Who the fuck is the “Broker”? Doomwar sounds awesome aside from him.

    If buying, that would be the only must-purchase, though I would probably be reading Booster Gold.

    Who’s the creative team on Sword?

  2. davidry214 Says:

    No clue who “Broker” is; he/she isn’t even listed on Marvel.com’s bios, so I assume it’s someone brand new.

    I can’t remember who’s drawing Sword (no one big), but it’s written by Kieron Gillen (sp?), a relative newcomer who suddenly has two or three Marvel books (I’ve read nothing by him).

  3. Gokitalo Says:

    Last issue’s X-Men Forever was a bit of a letdown (“Firecat”? Ehh), but this issue, which promises to focus on one of the series’ bigger mysteries, looks more promising. I’m not sure how new reader-friendly it’s going to be, but I’ll check it out…

    Yar, I think Kieron Gillen’s fairly new on the comics scene. He first caught everyone’s eye with Phonogram, a comic book about music and magic (in a sort of Vertigo/Grant Morrison vein), which he did with artist Jamie McKelvie. Right now he’s writing S.W.O.R.D. and Thor, although he’s gonna be done with Thor soon.

    Other comics I’m into this week: Adventure Comics #6, which includes Geoff Johns’ run on the title and promises a rather unique reunion between Lex Luthor and the recently-returned Superboy. There’s also Power of Shazam #48, the third of DC’s “resurrected” titles! It features the return of Osiris, Black Adam’s brother-in-law, as well as Freddy Freeman (the current Captain Marvel) and the depowered (dun dun dun!) Billy and Mary Batson. Catwoman #83’s out, too, but I may skip; this is like, the upteenth time Selina Kyle’s fought a resurrected Black Mask, right?

    Let’s see… DC’s reprinting Human Target, so folks interested in the upcoming TV show might want to check that out. The twelfth issue of R.E.B.E.L.S, which I just got back into, is also out. FINALLY, DC’s collecting this 1987 Doc Savage mini-series, The Silver Pyramid, by Denny O’Neil and the Kubert brothers. Perfect for those who dug the Batman/Doc Savage special (which I thought was alright). Plus, Denny and the Kuberts were doing some pretty good work in the ’80s.

  4. Gokitalo Says:

    Wow, that post was long.

  5. davidry214 Says:

    Yeah, I’ve been checking the X-Men Forever solits each month since I first read your praise of the book, but I’ve yet to see one that looked particularly inviting. I’ll keep an eye out, though.

    Gillen is also doing the Ares miniseries, and looks to have several one-shots or guest writer spots or minis coming up. Have you read any of his stuff? I haven’t yet, but I feel it’s inevitable. He keeps writing stuff that sounds pretty cool. This week’s S.W.O.R.D. cover is badass:
    http://marvel.com/images/586260./from/content.comic_issue.26233

    I probably should have gotten Power of Shazam, because the Marvel Family is pretty effed right now, in a half-annoying, half-intriguing way. I briefly considered Catwoman, since it’s written by my boy, Fabian Nicieza. But like FabNic’s Azrael series, I just don’t have enough interest in the character.

    I’ve seen ads for the new Human Target TV show, but I honestly didn’t realize it was based off a comic. And I’ve never read a Doc Savage story; my apologies.

  6. Gokitalo Says:

    Forgiven! I’ve only read one Doc Savage story more than you have, anyway :b

    I read issue #1 of Gillen’s Phonogram, which wasn’t bad. I also saw preview pages for S.W.O.R.D.; Gillen’s got a thing for witty, quippy dialogue, at least in that series. Not that that’s a bad thing, mind you…

    Nicieza’s Azrael isn’t the regular Az, but I’m not sure you’d be too interested by this new guy, either. I read the mini where he became the new Azrael and he didn’t quite grab me. But I dunno, maybe the ongoing’s developed him a little more…

    X-Men Forever is… I mean, it’s not perfect and I’m not sure it’s for everyone, but as me and others have noticed, it’s got this kind of addictive energy to it that a lot Claremont’s other recent stuff has lacked. It’s also avoided a lot of the pitfalls of Claremont’s recent work, too. He sort of feels more at home in X-Men Forever.

  7. spiffyithaca Says:

    No, witty, quippy dialogue is a HORRIBLE thing, Goki. Just awful.

  8. Gokitalo Says:

    I don’t mean witty and quippy dialogue is bad! The only thing is that if EVERYONE is witty and quippy all the time, it stretches credibility. Unless it’s a comedy.

  9. Gokitalo Says:

    Uh-oh. Looks like S.W.O.R.D. got cancelled:
    http://robot6.comicbookresources.com/2010/01/gillen-confirms-ax-has-fallen-on-marvels-s-w-o-r-d-series/

  10. davidry214 Says:

    Wow, just five issues; that didn’t last long. Kind of a shame. I don’t know whether it has been any good or not, but it certainly was an interesting idea.

Leave a Reply

