Spider-Man 4’s New Director: You Don’t Even Need To Make a Pun For His Last Name

by

Marc Webb, the director of the highly thought of (and exquisitely good) romantic comedy (500) Days of Summer, has been chosen to replace Sam Raimi as the director for Spider-Man 4.

Judging by the only movie he’s directed, it’s a really intriguing and creative choice. I’ll actually be talking about (500) Days of Summer in the coming days with a new segment, but suffice it to say, I’m actually impressed with this decision. With Raimi perhaps burned out on Spidey, Webb should fill in nicely in this new direction. Color me more optimistic than before.

http://www.examiner.com/x-30527-South-Bend-SciFi-Examiner~y2010m1d20-New-Spidey-will-be-more-angst-and-less-style

-Spiffy

5 Responses to “Spider-Man 4’s New Director: You Don’t Even Need To Make a Pun For His Last Name”

  1. davidry214 Says:

    I’m not at all optimisitc yet. (500) was a delightful movie that deserved all its acclaim, but that film, in and of itself, gives me no confidence in his ability to “reboot” Spidey — especially when the link you provided talked about the new direction featuring superhero action taking a back seat to teenage high school angst. That sounds awful.

  2. Gokitalo Says:

    Too soon… too soon… too soon…

    I know they say Ultimate Spider-Man is their inspiration, but I’m worried they’re going to be all, “wow, Dark Knight was so great and darrrk, let’s make this movie all darrrk.” Kind of how the ’90s in comics started, you know?

  3. davidry214 Says:

    If it’s based on Ultimate Spidey, it’ll probably be more emo than dark. Besides, I know he’s only done one movie so far, but Webb doesn’t seem like the guy to go to for darrrk.

  4. spiffyithaca Says:

    Well, I loved Ultimate Spider-Man, and think it’s style and characterization, like Ultimates, would fit perfectly as a movie. May I suggest the Gwen Stacy storyline?

  5. davidry214 Says:

    Um, no. I read a decent chunk of Bendis’ Ultimate Spider-Man, and I reiterate my emo comment.

Leave a Reply

