5/26/10 Recommendations and Such

by

Remember comic books? Well, here are some that came out today:

Essentials

Green Lantern #54

There was a crossover recently called Blackest Night. It was big, and it’s follow-up, Brightest Day, has been good too, at least what I’ve read of it. Who foresaw a day when Green Lantern would arguably be a  bigger flagship title for DC than Superman or Batman?

Justice League: Generation Lost #2

I haven’t gotten #1 yet, but I will. I mean, Giffen and DeMatteis back on the characters they’ve rocked off and on for 25 years? Come on. I mean, COME ON.

Should Buy

X-Force #27

I’m even more behind on Second Coming, so I won’t call this installment of the crossover an Essential since it’s possible it hasn’t lived up to its lofty beginning, but I bet it’s still rocking. If so, that also makes the one-shot Revelations: Blind Science a good buy this week.

Batman: Return of Bruce Wayne #2 (of 6)

I didn’t buy the first, but I imagine I will. I’m just not sure how much I’m up for another “lost in time” superhero return, especially so shortly after Cap’s similar (and mediocre) journey, coupled with Morrison’s somewhat decline. But hey, it’s a big deal regardless, so go for it.

DoomWar #4 (of 6)

I loved the first two issues, and bought #3 (will read soon). It’s an awesome take on Marvel’s two coolest monarchs: Black Panther and Doctor Doom (sorry Namor, you’re third). It’s exciting to be … excited about T’Challa again. Finally, a worthy successor to Priest.

Secret Avengers #1

I got the first issue of Bendis’ latest Avengers title, but haven’t read it yet and don’t expect to really like/keep buying it. This series, on the other hand, is more intriguing, with Brubaker taking on a really cool lineup, featuring Steve Rogers (now head of SHIELD), Beast, Black Widow, War Machine, Moon Knight, Nova, and (for some reason) Valkyrie.

Others to Consider

Green Lantern Corps #48

I got really into this title during early/middle Blackest Night, but then it went quickly back downhill; Tomasi is just too inconsistent, IMO. But I’ll stick around until at least #50, and maybe Tony Daniel will have an interesting take (though I’m not optimistic, as his Batman never really wowed).

The Thanos Imperative: Ignition #1

Mothers, lock up your daughters: Thanos is back. Of course, if he ends all life, that locking up will do you no good. Dan Abnett and Andy Lanning are Marvel’s premier cosmic writers these days, having supplanted Jim Starlin. And it sounds like about every cosmic character ever will get in on the action at some point here, so it could be badass. I’m seriously considering it, despite not having read any of the recent cosmic events over the past five+ years.

Superman: War of the Supermen #4 (of 4)

Hey, I don’t read any Superman stuff, but this “100-Second War” between Kyptonians is a cool idea. I bet it’s good.

Dazzler #1

For Lia!

3 Responses to “5/26/10 Recommendations and Such”

  1. Gokitalo Says:

    YES! For Lia!

    ALso, you guys really need to get Green Lantern #54. You know that Red Lantern cat, Dex-Starr? Well, even if you don’t know him, you should still get the issue. Because he might, probably, absolutely show up in the issue.

    Just sayin’.

    I haven’t gotten #1 yet, but I will. I mean, Giffen and DeMatteis back on the characters they’ve rocked off and on for 25 years? Come on. I mean, COME ON.

    You are half-right: Giffen’s back, but Winick’s doing the scripting! But don’t panic, comic fans, for Judd has proven before that he can bring the funny. Still, if you want the classic BWA-HA-HA team of Giffen and DeMatteis working their JLI magic, check out this month’s Booster Gold!

    This is a very good list. Buy these comics, dear reader(s). And for all your Mr. and Ms. Moneybags out there, cool trades out this week include Doc Savage: Man of Bronze, Wednesday Comics and Ex Machina Vol. 9. Actually, I have no idea if the first two are cool or not, although everyone says Wednesday Comics ruled. Ex Machina though, is awesome, for sure. Just go get volumes 1-8 first.

    Fantastic Four #579 comes out this week too, BUT IT HAD BETTER BE FASTER THAN THE LAST FOUR ISSUES. Alien kingdoms and forbidden cities are cool and all, but we need more payoff to go with our setup. And more things happening in general.

  2. davidry214 Says:

    I remember now it being Winick, but after saying Giffen and DeMatteis for years, it feels odd to type out a different duo. I still think it’s a borderline Essential, and will tell the blog for sure whenever I actually read some of it.

    Yeah, when I tried FF a few months ago, anticlimactic was a good way to describe it. Dug the art though.

  3. Gokitalo Says:

    It was some pretty nice art. You’re right, though, not much happened that issue. The first arc, “Solve Everything,” was still pretty good, though.

Leave a Reply

