Spider-Man actor announced

by

I’m still skeptical about Marvel’s plans to “reboot” the Spider-Man movie franchise (how can you reboot a movie franchise that’s eight years old?), so I wasn’t exactly waiting on pins and needles for the announcement of the actor who will be playing Spidey in the 2012 movie. But hey, here’s the news:

Andrew Garfield will be taking on Tobey Maguire’s role as Peter Parker/Spider-Man in the as-of-yet untitled movie. Never heard of him? Me neither, but his name made me giggle immaturely. Here’s his IMDB page, sparse on credits with almost everything being pretty minor roles so far. I guess he kinda looks the part, and there’s a history of unproven actors doing well in comics roles. Maguire wasn’t a household name yet when he got the role, though he’d done Cider House Rules by that point, making him much better known than Garfield.

Director Marc Webb, who himself only has one movie to his credit (though it was the excellent (500) Days of Summer), raved about Garfield in the previously linked press release: “Though his name may be new to many, those who know this young actor’s work understand his extraordinary talents. He has a rare combination of intelligence, wit, and humanity. Mark my words, you will love Andrew Garfield as Peter Parker.”

I’ll mark your words, Marc. And I might even enjoy your movie. I just can’t get excited about it yet.

4 Responses to “Spider-Man actor announced”

  1. spiffyithaca Says:

    So, while I’m sure there’s someone better out there (pick me!!), Andrew Garfield is a pretty great choice, I think.

    The Red Riding movies he was in got great reviews and I’m sure he was good in them, and he stood up well against Heath Ledger and the smorgasboard of actors replacing the dearly departed (Jude Law, Colin Farrell, someone else I forgot) in the trippy Imaginarium of Dr. Parnassus, so I think he has the talent, and the precocious/dweeby look to pull this off.

    I’m not as against this reboot as I used to be and most people seem to be, just because with Raimi and Maguire out, and with Spider-Man 3 practically ruining the previous 2 great installments, why not get a fresh start (and yes, I know it’s about money, but Marc Webb/500 Days of Summer rules)? It’s not as bad as Brand New Day.

  2. Gokitalo Says:

    Wait, I thought Spiff WAS Spider-Man. Isn’t that why my windows are always covered in sticky fluid whenever he comes… over?

  3. davidry214 Says:

    Goki is such a perv now. You’ve changed over the past … decade? Wow…

    I really did love (500) Days of Summer, despite thinking that Zooey Deschanel is on the verge of playing the exact same character in every movie. But one film isn’t enough for me to give unlimited faith to Webb. And I still just think it’s way too soon to do a reboot, even if they’ve got great ideas. Yeah, Spider-Man 3 was a major disappointment, but I don’t think the regular populace (non-comic fans) is going to want to see a franchise restart, when it still feels like it *just* “ended.”

  4. Gokitalo Says:

    Man, it really has been almost ten years. And I prefer the term “risque,” I… think? Besides, remember what we used to call this blog :b (although in my defense, Spiff and I came up with the name together)

Leave a Reply

