Read Marvel Comics free online… at Starbucks

by

If you’ve been on the fence over joining Marvel Digital Comics Unlimited because of the yearly subscription fee ($4.99 a month nowadays), then head on over to Starbucks start April 23 to access it for free via the Starbucks Digital Network.

http://robot6.comicbookresources.com/2011/03/like-coffee-with-your-comics-marvel-joins-starbucks-digital-network/

Looks like I’ll be heading to Starbucks a lot more often! I kind of wonder how this’ll change the coffee shop’s culture. Probably not in any significant way, but maybe we’ll see more folks getting together and talking comics over coffee (while READING said comics online). Starbucks could become a trendy place to meet and make friends with fellow fans!

5 Responses to “Read Marvel Comics free online… at Starbucks”

  1. davidry214 Says:

    I have thought several times about subscribing to Marvel Digital Comics, but never have gotten off the fence yet. This new venture could give me the chance to test drive it some for free and make up my mind that way. Thus, I kind of fit the exact target audience from Marvel’s perspective, with one notable exception: I’ve never liked coffee products. But oh well, I can chow down on some scones and hot chocolate or something.

    I don’t see this having just a major impact for either company. Marvel could pick up a few subscribers, but maybe some people will just always go the free route. And while there are still a lot of comics fans out there, I imagine the chances of walking into any particular Starbucks and having a comic book conversation will remain quite low.

    Having said that, very cool news. I look forward to trying it out in about a month.

  2. gokitalo Says:

    Ditto. March’s just too busy…

  3. davidry214 Says:

    Well, I was referring to the fact that it doesn’t start until April 23.

  4. gokitalo Says:

    … that also. I keep forgetting the date.

  5. taller de cocina en barcelona Says:

    taller de cocina en barcelona…

    […]Read Marvel Comics free online… at Starbucks « Eat More Comics[…]…

Leave a Reply

